Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Chad Norton Wins 2021 World Series of Poker $800 No-Limit Hold'em Deepstack Event

The Live WSOP First-Timer Topped A Field of 2,053 Entries To Win $214,830 and His First Gold Bracelet


Another day, another huge-field no-limit tournament champion decided at the 2021 World Series of Poker.

The latest low buy-in, big turnout event to reach its conclusion was the $800 buy-in no-limit hold’em ‘Deepstack’ event, which drew 2,053 entries to build a prize pool of more than $1.4 million. After two long days of tournament action, Chad Norton emerged victorious with the $214,830 top prize and his first WSOP gold bracelet.

This was by far the largest live tournament score for the native of Palm Desert, CA. His previous top payday came when he finished 187th in the World Poker Tour Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown $3,500 buy-in main event for $7,225 earlier this year. In fact, Norton told PokerNews reporters after his win that this was his first-ever live WSOP event. Incredibly, he managed to come away with the hardware and a six-figure payday in his first attempt. Norton was also awarded 540 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win.

The second and final day of this fast-paced event began with 120 players remaining from the thousands of entries made by the end of the registration period. Norton entered the day as one of the short stacks with just over 10 big blinds. He managed to outlast the like of two-time bracelet winners John Moore (70th – $2k853) and Eric Baldwin (62nd – $3,305), PokerStars Championship Bahamas main event winner Christian Harder (25th – $6,591), and high-stakes tournament regular Koray Aldemir (11th – $15,417) on his way to making the final table as one of the larger stacks.

He earned the first two knockouts at the official final table, busting Josh Herman (9th – $19,533) and William Blais (8th – $24,982) to overtake the lead. After a dinner break, Jordyn Miller’s (7th – $32,254) pocket tens were cracked by the A-8 of Andres Jeckeln to narrow the field to six.

Norton secured his third elimination of the final table when his ASpade SuitJHeart Suit held up against the AClub Suit3Club Suit of Kevin Wang ($6th – $42,031).

Ivan Uzunov was the next to fall, with his JSpade Suit10Spade Suit running into the QClub SuitJClub Suit of Jeckeln. He earned $55,279 after theboard improved neither player.

Norton extended his already commanding chip advantage when he called the small-blind shove of Narimaan Ahmadi with ASpade Suit6Heart Suit out of the big blind. Norton was in a dominant position with ASpade Suit6Heart Suit ahead of the KDiamond Suit6Club Suit of Ahmadi. Ace high remained the best hand by the river and Ahmadi was sent to the rail in fourth place ($73,371).

Jeckeln’s run in this event came to an end in third place. He lost a preflop race the very next hand after Ahmadi busted, getting all-in with KSpade Suit10Spade Suit up against the pocket sevens of Steve Lemma. The 7Spade Suit3Club Suit2Spade Suit flop made things even more interesting, with lemma’s top set now facing a flush draw for Jeckeln. The 5Diamond Suit turn changed nothing for either player. The 5Heart Suit on the river improved Lemma to a full house to lock up the pot. Jeckeln earned $98,269 as the third-place finisher.

With that Norton took more than a 3:1 chip lead into heads-up play with Lemma. It didn’t take long for him to convert that advantage into the title. In the final hand Norton raised from the button with ASpade Suit8Diamond Suit. Lemma three-bet all-in from the big blind holding QClub Suit9Spade Suit and Norton called. The board ran out AClub SuitJHeart Suit3Diamond Suit5Club Suit5Heart Suit. Norton made aces and threes to secure the title, while Lemma was awarded $132,802 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Chad Norton $214,830 540
2 Steven Lemma $132,802 450
3 Andres Jeckeln $98,269 360
4 Narimaan Ahmadi $73,371 270
5 Ivan Uzunov $55,279 225
6 Kevin Wang $42,031 180
7 Jordyn Miller $32,254 135
8 William Blais $24,982 90
9 Josh Herman $19,533 45

Winner photo credit: WSOP / Melissa Haereiti.