Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Maurice Hawkins Wins 2021 Palm Beach Kennel Club Summer Poker Classic Championship

The All-Time WSOP Circuit Ring Leader Defeated A Field of 233 Entries To Win $55,287


The 2021 Palm Beach Summer Classic $1,100 buy-in no-limit hold’em championship event attracted a field of 233 entries to the Palm Beach Kennel Club. The solid turnout saw the $200,00 guarantee easily surpassed, with the top 27 finishers making the money. In the end, the title and the largest share of that prize money was awarded to Maurice Hawkins. The 14-time World Series of Poker Circuit gold ring winner earned $55,287 for the win, increasing his lifetime live tournament earnings to more than $4.1 million.

The final table action was live-stream on PBKC’s Twitch channel, and featured commentary from the venue’s own Noah Carbone and Mike Jameson, with appearances from Adam Schoenfeld, the former host of Card Player TV’s ‘The Scoop’ and Zhen Cai, who finished sixth in the 2019 WSOP main event. Cai placed 10th in this event for $4,033, busting out one spot earlier than his wife Jessica Cai, who earned $4,975 as the ninth-place finisher.

A video replay of the full final-table broadcast can be viewed below:

The final day began with 20 players remaining and Hawkins in the chip lead. He took out Billy Scheer in fifth place ($13,529) to enter four-handed action in second place behind Steven McKoy. He then scored a double knockout when his 10Diamond Suit8Club Suit beat out the JDiamond Suit8Diamond Suit of Mark Rakoff and the pocket fives of Baumstein. The board ran out KDiamond Suit4Heart Suit4Club SuitAHeart Suit10Spade Suit to secure the pot for Hawkins. Rakoff was the shortest of the two very short stacks, and finished fourth for $18,109. Baumstein earned $24,658 as the third-place finisher.

Maurice took roughly 2.5 million into heads-up play with McKoy, who sat with 2.2 million. The two played briefly before agreeing to a deal that brought the event to a conclusion, with Hawkins securing the title.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Maurice Hawkins $55,287 384
2 Steven McKoy $34,151 320
3 Scott Baumstein $24,658 256
4 Mark Rakoff $18,109 192
5 William Scheer $13,529 160
6 Joseph Thomas $10,280 128
7 Johnathan Grant $7,941 96
8 Judson Bennett $6,236 64

Winner photo provided by PBKC.