Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Huck Seed Inducted Into Poker Hall Of Fame

The 1996 World Series Of Poker Main Event Champion Becomes The 59th Member Of The Club


The World Series of Poker announced Wednesday that four-time bracelet winner Huck Seed is the newest member of the Poker Hall of Fame.

The 1996 WSOP main event champion racked up nearly $7.65 million in live tournament earnings over the course of his career, which dates back to 1990. Aside from his $1 million score in the main event, the Santa Clara native earned bracelets in the 1994 $2,500 pot-limit Omaha, the 2000 $1,500 razz and the 2003 $5,000 razz.

Along with his four bracelets, the former Caltech College basketball standout took down the NBC National Heads-Up Championship in 2009 for $500,000.

While Seed was a poker standout, among the high-stakes community, he might even be more renowned for his legendary prop bets away from the table. A couple of the more noteworthy bets include Seed losing a five-figure sum to Phil Hellmuth when he claimed he could float in the ocean for 24 hours and winning $10,000 from Howard Lederer when he said he could learn to do a standing backflip in two days.

In one of his more recent prop bets, he grappled with former poker pro and MMA fighter Terrence Chan during a break of the 2015 WSOP. In the video of the fight, three-time bracelet winner Greg Mueller can be heard claiming that the match was for $50,000. Security eventually broke up the fight and no money was exchanged.

The 31 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame were eligible to cast up to 10 votes across the slate of finalists. With one member deciding to abstain from voting, the 51-year-old Santa Clara native netted 76 of a possible 300 votes, earning this year’s honor.

“Hearing the news that I am being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame this year brought back memories of my early poker days, walking into the Binion’s Horseshoe, about to start a poker session, admiring all the Poker Hall of Famers on the wall,” said Seed. “It feels good to be included with all the poker legends that I once idolized and competed against over the years. Thank you, everyone.”

Earlier this month, fellow Hall of Famer Erik Seidel tweeted that Seed was his pick for this year, citing Seed’s success in high-stakes cash games, his tournament results and his reputation in the community.

Veteran tournament director Matt Savage finished second in the voting with 51. Here is the final vote count:

• Huckleberry Seed – 76 votes
• Matt Savage – 51 votes
• Isai Scheinberg – 45 votes
• Eli Elezra – 30 votes
• Antonio Esfandiari – 23 votes
• Lon McEachern and Norman Chad – 20 votes
• Ted Forrest – 20 votes
• Mike Matusow – 17 votes
• Patrik Antonius – 15 votes
• Chris Ferguson – 3 votes

In 2019, Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim were voted in as the 57th and 58th member of the group. Seed becomes the 59th.

The criteria for being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Here is a look at everyone inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame since it was founded in 1979:

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandani 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Huck Seed 2020


over 1 year ago

sad that the Mouth and Ferguson were nominated, sadder still, they got votes