Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


William Firebaugh Wins South Point's Benny Binion Shootout Poker Tournament

The $2,050 Buy-In Event Drew A Field of 128 Entries, Creating A $256,000 Prize Pool


William Firebaugh - Credit: South Point Poker Room Twitter AccountThe first-ever Benny Binion Shootout event was held from Dec. 18-20, 2020 at the South Point Poker Room. The $2,050 buy-in no-limit hold’em event attracted 128 entries to build a $256,000 prize pool, which was paid out among the top 16 finishers. The largest share was ultimately awarded to William Firebaugh, who defeated decorated tournament poker professional Nicholas Pupillo heads-up to secure the title and the top prize of $100,000.

This was Firebaugh’s third recorded live tournament win, and his first score of six-figures or higher. His biggest previous payday came when he took down the 2019 World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Tunica $600 big-blind ante event for $36,219 and a WSOPC gold ring. Firebaugh now has $373,530 in career tournament earnings to his name.

In addition to the title and the money, Firebaugh was also awarded 264 Card Player Player of the Year points as the champion of this event. This was his second POY-qualified score of the year, having won a $400 buy-in event at the Hard Rock Casino Cincinnati back in January. His two victories are enough to move him inside the top 500 in the 2020 POY race, which is sponsored by Global Poker.

Pupillo took home $50,000 and 220 points as the second-place finisher. This was his seventh POY-qualified final-table finish of the year. With $249,732 in year-to-date earnings and 1,139 in total points, Pupillo now sits in 52nd place in the overall rankings. The score increased Pupillo’s lifetime earnings to $3,353,741.

The final table also featured WSOP bracelet winner Dan Matsuzuki, who earned $14,000 for fifth place. Fellow bracelet winner Ronnie Bardah finished 13th for $3,000.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings POY Points
1 William Firebaugh $100,000 264
2 Nicholas Pupillo $50,000 220
3 Daniel Pickering $25,000 176
4 Han Hoai $18,000 132
5 Dan Matsuzuki $14,000 110
6 Jason Phamolivo $11,000 88
7 Brian Mancilla $8,000 66
8 Richard Dixon $6,000 44