Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Alex Foxen and Jake Daniels Win 2020 LA Poker Classic High Roller Events

The Two Players Took Down $25,000 Buy-In Events At Commerce Casino For Six-Figure Paydays


The 2020 L.A. Poker Classic is nearing the end of its nearly seven-week run, which will have played host to 69 tournaments between January 15 and March 4. The historic poker festival included two high roller events toward the end of its schedule this year, both featuring a $25,000 buy-in.

Jacob DanielsThe first of these two high stakes no-limit hold’em events attracted a total of 30 entries, creating a prize pool of $749,850 which was paid out to the top five finishers.

In the end, it was Katy, Texas’ Jacob Daniels who emerged victorious with the title and the top prize of $281,390. This was Daniels’ fourth career live tournament title and his largest career cash. The score helped grow his lifetime live earnings to $996,287.

Daniel’s overcame a final five that included the likes of 2019 World Poker Tour Legends of Poker main event champion Aaron Van Blarcum (5th – $67,140), World Series of Poker bracelet winner and 2011 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event champion Galen Hall (4th – $88,670), and five-time WPT final tablist Ray Qartomy (3rd – $125,060).

Mike Meskin finished as the runner-up, earning $187,590 for his strong showing in this event. Daniels was awarded 336 Card Player Player of the Year points after coming out on top. This was his second title and third POY-qualaified final -table finish of 2020. He now sits in a tie for 77th place as a result.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Place Player Payout (USD) POY Points
1 Jacob Daniels $281,390 336
2 Mike Meskin $187,590 280
3 Ray Qartomy $125,060 224
4 Galen Hall $88,670 168
5 Aaron Van Blarcum $67,140 140

Alex FoxenThe second high roller event drew 20 total entries to build the prize pool to $474,905. Only the top three finishers cashed in this event, with high stakes tournament star Alex Foxen ultimately capturing the title. Foxen, who finished inside the top three in the Player of the Year race in both 2018 and 2019, earned $237,452 and 252 POY points as the winner of this tournament.

This was Foxen’s first title and fifth final-table finish of the year. As a result, he now occupies the 17th-place position on the 2020 POY race leaderboard, which is presented by Global Poker.

Foxen defeated 2018 POY award winner Jake Schindler heads-up to secure the title. Schindler earned $151,970 for his latest deep run in a high roller event. It was his 59th career cash of at least six figures.

WSOP bracelet winner and 2012 main event fifth-place finisher Jeremey Ausmus finished in third place, earning $85,483.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Place Player Payout (USD) POY Points
1 Alex Foxen $237,452 252
2 Jake Schindler $151,970 210
3 Jeremy Ausmus $85,483 168

Winner photos via The Commerce Blog.