Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Brazil's Murilo Souza Figueredo Wins $1,500 H.O.R.S.E. Event At 2019 World Series Of Poker

37-Year-Old Poker Pro Earns First Bracelet And $207,003 First-Place Prize


The $1,500 H.O.R.S.E. event at the 2019 World Series of Poker drew a field of 751 players, creating a total prize pool of $1,013,850. This represented a slight increase over the field of 731 in 2018.

After four days of action, the title, the bracelet, and the first-place payout of $207,003 went to Brazilian Murilo Souza Figueredo. The poker enthusiast, who is a mixed-games specialist, topped a tough final table that included bracelet winners Phillip Hui (4th), and Chris Klodnicki (5th), as well as accomplished poker pros Jason Stockfish (2nd), and Alex Dovzhenko (6th).

Figueredo was spurred on to victory by the loudest rail of the summer thus far, with a mob of fellow Brazilians cheering every pot he took down.

“It’s amazing,” Figueredo told WSOP reporters through a translator. “They’re the best players from Brazil. I’ve known them for a long time. We’ve been playing poker together for more than 13 years. Winning here with them watching, I don’t even have words to describe it.”

The final hand went down in the game of Omaha eight-or-better. After a back-and-forth heads-up match that required an additional day of play, Figueredo wore down Stockfish and finally got the last of his chips in while he was holding quad fours. Stockfish could only chop the pot with a low, but the river bricked out, and he was eliminated.

In addition to the money, Figueredo also earned 912 Card Player Player of the Year points for his win. The POY is sponsored by Global Poker.

Other notable players who finished in the money included Jimmy Fricke (97th), Scott Bohlman (96th), Adam Friedman (93rd), Don Zewin (90th), David Baker (87th), Matt Grapenthien (82nd), Matt Savage (59th), Jim Collopy (55th), Daniel Zack (47th), David Bach (39th), Ralph Perry (37th), Chris Tryba (33rd), Anthony Zinno (29th), Andre Akkari (26th), Tony Ma (20th), Valentin Vornicu (19th), Ron Ware (16th), Mark Gregorich (14th), and Keith Sexton (10th).

Here is a look at the final table results.

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Murilo Souza Figueredo $207,003 912
2 Jason Stockfish $127,932 760
3 Gary Kosakowski $89,730 608
4 Phillip Hui $63,860 456
5 Chris Klodnicki $46,127 380
6 Alex Dovzhenko $33,822 304
7 Joe Aronesty $25,181 228
8 Daniel Woolard $19,040 152

For more coverage from the summer series, check out the 2019 WSOP landing page, complete with a full schedule, results, news, player interviews, and event recaps.