Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

CPPT VII - DeepStack Championship Poker Series

$5,000 CPPT Main Event No-Limit Hold'em $2 Million GTD


Andrey Pateychuk Wins CPPT Venetian DeepStack Championship Poker Series

For many poker players, the Card Player Poker Tour Venetian DeepStack Championship Poker Series $5,000 main event represented the last chance to make their mark on Las Vegas before heading home. With a $2 million ...

Robert 'Rec Rob' Nehorayan Wins $1,500 Limit Hold'em Bracelet At 2018 World Series of Poker

Nehorayan Wins First Career Bracelet and $173,568 First-Place Prize


Card Player’s 2018 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker. Get a 100 percent deposit bonus, up to $1,000, by joining now. The site offers great cash game action and a chance to win more than $1 million in guaranteed tournaments throughout the month.

A total of 596 players put up the $1,500 buy-in in the latest limit hold’em event at the 2018 World Series of Poker, creating a prize pool of $804,600. In the end, the title went to 36-year-old L.A. real estate consultant Robert Nehorayan.

Nehorayan, who goes by ‘Rec Rob’ in the L.A. poker scene because of his amateur status, banked $173,568 for the win, along with his first gold bracelet. Nehorayan’s previous best scores came with a deep run in the 2007 WSOP main event and a win in the 2006 California State Poker Championship.

Nehorayan overcame a tough final table that included Matt Woodward (9th), Terri Evanowski (4th), and Kevin Song (2nd), who owns a limit hold’em bracelet himself.

“It feels pretty good,” Nehorayan said to WSOP reporters after his win. “I got a little frustrated throughout the match, but fortunately I was able to overcome my emotions. The cards helped too.”

Other notables who finished in the money included Matt Grapenthien (12th), Svetlana Gromenkova (30th), Jonathan Tamayo (43rd), Rex Clinkscales (77th), and Chip Jett (84th).

Here is a look at the final table.

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Robert Nehorayan $173,568 840
2 Kevin Song $107,242 700
3 David Gee $73,860 560
4 Terri Evanowski $51,733 420
5 Michael Jex $36,860 350
6 Brad Albrinck $26,725 280
7 Oleg Chebotarev $19,723 210
8 Matt Russell $14,820 140
9 Matt Woodward $11,343 70

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2018 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.