Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 11th WSOP Circuit Gold Ring

34-Year-Old Poker Pro Defeats Field of 1,340 Entries To Win $64,205


Valentin Vornicu outlasted a field of 1,340 entries in the 2018 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s New Orleans $365 no-limit hold’em re-entry even to capture his record-setting 11th WSOPC gold ring. Vornicu was tied with Maurice Hawkins for the leading number of titles on the circuit, but now stands alone as the record holder. In addition to making history with the win Vornicu also earned $64,205 as the champion of the event, bringing his lifetime earnings to $1,131,734.

“It’s the first time I’m at the top of the leaderboard with no ties,” Vornicu told WSOP reporters after coming out on top. “First, I tied Alex [Masek] and then I was tied with Maurice [Hawkins]… I just am happy with the win itself. I just like winning tournaments. It’s nice to win one of these bigger fields for more money."

The San Diego, California resident has achieved the lead in WSOP Circuit titles despite not following the tour year round.

“A lot of people think that I travel all the time. I stay local. I’ve got like five stops," said Vornicu. “I want to relax half the year. What’s the point of grinding all this poker if you can’t enjoy the beach for x amount of time?”

Vornicu’s rings have all come in no-limit hold’em events, with his biggest win being his title run in the 2015 WSOP Circuit Bicycle Casino main event. He topped a field of 641 entries in that tournament to win $197,110.

For this latest victory Vornicu also earned 384 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was only his third POY-qualified score of the year, and it was only enough to move him into 421st place in the overall standings.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Valentin Vornicu $64,205 384
2 Clinton Boynes $39,002 320
3 Jonathan Hilton $28,839 256
4 Timothy Acker $21,988 192
5 Vismantas Marijosius $16,971 160
6 David Slaughter $13,249 128
7 Joseph Hebert $10,495 96
8 Ryan Stephens $8,440 64
9 Holly Meliet $6,891 32