Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Ryan Jones Wins 2017 World Series of Poker Circuit Rio Main Event

26-Year Old Wins Second WSOPC Main Event Title After Defeating 945-Entry Field


Ryan Jones has won his second World Series of Poker Circuit main event, outlasting a field of 945 entries to take down the 2017 WSOP Circuit Rio $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event. For the Jones earned the $269,327 first-place prize and his second gold ring.

The North Carolina native captured his first main event ring in the 2014 WSOPC Cherokee $1,675 no-limit hold’em event, defeating a field of 786 players to win $235,804. Just under two years later he has once again made his way to the winner’s circle.

For this latest win Jones was awarded 912 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was enough to see him move into a tie for 35th place in the 2017 POY rankings, which are presented this year by Commerce Hotel & Casino.

Jones came into the final day of the tournament almost exactly in the middle of the pack. He was in ninth chip position with 19 players remaining. Joining him in the final day were a number of recognizable names including eight-time ring winner Ari Engel (14th – $17,038), Dylan Wilkerson (11th – $20,908) and overnight chip leader Jeremy Joseph (3rd – $122,954).

When Joseph hit the rail in third place that set up the heads-up showdown between Jones and Las Vegas local Muruz Yohannes. Jones held roughly a 5-to-2 lead when the final battle began. He was able to mount a small comeback, but Jones still had him well covered when the final hand arose. With blinds of 150,000 – 300,000 and an ante of 50,000 Yohannes limped in and Jones raised to 1,000,000. Yohannes made the call and the flop brought the JSpade Suit7Club Suit5Club Suit. Jones bet 600,000 and Yohannes moved all in. Jones instantly called and tabled the QSpade SuitQHeart Suit, which was well ahead of Yohannes’ 8Spade Suit7Spade Suit. The turn brought the QClub Suit and the river the KClub Suit, locking up the pot and the title for Jones and sending Yohannes to the rail in second place. He earned $166,585 for his deep run.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Ryan Jones $269,327 912
2 Muruz Yohannes $166,585 760
3 Jeremy Joseph $122,954 608
4 Nikolai Sears $91,996 456
5 Tony Utnage $69,698 380
6 Martin Zamani $53,468 304
7 Jett Schencker $41,519 228
8 Daniel Engels $32,645 152
9 Cody Pack $25,969 76