Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Koveh Waysei Wins Card Player Poker Tour Main Event At Bicycle Hotel & Casino

Waysei Earns $45,000 After Three-Way Chop


Koveh WayseiThe Card Player Poker Tour main event at the Bicycle Hotel & Casino wrapped up Thursday with Koveh Waysei taking home the title and the top prize of $45,000. This was Waysei’s best career finish, after previously earning $10,380 for finishing second in a CPPT preliminary event at the Bike last October. Waysei made a deal with William Robinson and Ted Jivkov during three-handed play to secure the victory.

The quantum reload event featured a $235 buy-in for most of the six starting flights, but players could get in later in the tournament if they were willing to put up $1,500. A total of 1,286 players entered the event at the lower price point, and 47 players opted to enter later on. The end result was a prize pool of $311,030 that shattered the $200,000 guarantee.

The final 144 players made the money, taking home a minimum of $450. There were also nine players who made it through two starting flights, earning $1,500 each for their accomplishment.

The Bicycle Hotel & Casino recently wrapped up renovations with a $50 million seven-story luxury hotel addition. The 117,907 square-foot hotel boasts 99 rooms, including 29 suites, as well as a multitude of amenities including the all-new Bike Brewery, full spa and elevated outdoor pool deck with private cabanas.

The CPPT will make its next stop this weekend at the Venetian in Las Vegas. In August, the tour heads to Playground Poker Club in Montreal. The tour will return to Los Angeles and the Bicycle Hotel & Casino later this October.

For more information and to find out how you can play in the next CPPT event, visit the tour’s homepage.

Here is a look at the final-table payouts awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout
1 Koveh Waysei $45,000*
2 William Robinson $33,295*
3 Ted Jivkov $26,270*
4 Shaun Abkarian $14,300
5 John Hulett $12,000
6 Jesus Jimenez $10,000
7 Mark Hamilton $8,200
8 Behrooz Shishegar $6,700
9 Ahmad Asad $5,400

*Based on a three-way deal.