Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets

Viatcheslav Ortynskiy Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $3,000 Six-Max Pot-Limit Omaha Event

Russian Poker Pro Earns $344,327 and First Gold Bracelet


The $3,000 six-max pot-limit Omaha event at the 2016 World Series of Poker drew a field of 580 players, creating a total prize pool of $1,583,400. After three days of play, it was Russian poker pro Viatcheslav Ortynskiy who came away with the win, along with the $344,327 first-place prize.

This was the 36-year-old’s fourth career WSOP final table appearance. In 2013, he won $108,701 and $94,664 for finishing third and fourth in the $1,500 and $5,000 H.O.R.S.E. events. In 2014, he took fifth in the $10,000 Omaha eight-or-better event for $110,113. This year, he finally secured the win.

“It’s amazing,” Ortynskiy said afterward, struggling to find words to express his emotions.

Ortynskiy is now the tenth Russian poker player to win a WSOP bracelet. Russia has 12 bracelets overall, with Viatcheslav Zhukov and Vitaly Lunkin each earning two.

The final table featured bracelet winner Randy Ohel, who earned $141,187 for his third-place finish. This was Ohel’s fourth top-10 finish of the summer, after previously making deep runs in the $10,000 H.O.R.S.E., $10,000 Dealer’s Choice and $1,500 Dealer’s Choice.

Other notables who finished in the money included Sean Winter (8th), Christian Harder (17th), Gordon Vayo (19th), Mike Watson (22nd), Joe Ebanks (24th), Humberto Brenes (25th), Max Silver (35th), Paul Volpe (37th) and Eli Elezra (40th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Viatcheslav Ortynskiy $344,327 1,260
2 Rafael Lebron $212,779 1,050
3 Randy Ohel $141,187 840
4 Matthew Humphrey $95,623 630
5 George Wolff $66,134 525
6 Joshua Gibson $46,727 420

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.