Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Danny Le Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $1,500 Limit Hold'em Event

Le Earns $188,815 And First Career Bracelet


The 2016 World Series of Poker $1,500 limit hold’em event drew a strong field of 665 entrants, creating a total prize pool of $897,750. That left $188,815 for the winner, which was 49-year-old businessman Danny Le.

Le, who now resides in California, was making his second WSOP final table appearance and third cash of his career. His previous best score was for $25,620 when he finished 15th in the 2012 WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star main event. He now has nearly $250,000 in career tournament earnings.

“I finally got a gold bracelet," exclaimed Le after his win. "I can’t believe it. I finally won a gold bracelet!”

When asked what he was going to do with the money, the Saigon native said he was planning a vacation to Cancun. A vacation may also be in the cards for the event’s runner-up finisher, Scott Farnsworth of Washington.

Incredibly, Farnsworth didn’t even realize he had signed up for a limit hold’em tournament. He thought he was playing a no-limit hold’em tournament and when he realized his mistake, he was forced to read up on limit hold’em strategy at the table during his first day of play. Ultimately, he took home $116,663 for finishing in second place.

Other players to make a deep run in the event included Tyler Bonkowski (3rd), Mark Gregorich (11th), Dan Idema (12th), Stephen Chidwick (20th), Michael Mizrachi (24th), Ronnie Bardah (35th) and Todd Witteles (40th).

Ryan Laplante, who won his first bracelet earlier this summer, also finished in the money, taking home $5,155 for his 21st-place showing. He now has a whopping seven cashes this summer, and is hoping to break the record of 12 set by Konstantin Puchkov in 2012.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Danny Le $188,815 840
2 Scott Farnsworth $116,663 700
3 Tyler Bonkowski $80,706 560
4 Dave Tobin $56,740 420
5 Dale Eberle $40,550 350
6 Dustin Bush $29,466 280
7 Andrew Beversdorf $21,778 2100
8 Daniel Huseman $16,376 140
9 Esmeralda Villafuerte $12,532 70

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

*Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.