Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Maria Ho Headlines Stacked 2016 World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star Final Table

Six Remain To Battle It Out For The Title and $1,298,000 First-Place Prize


The 2016 World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star $7,500 no-limit hold’em main event drew a record field of 753 entries to build a prize pool of over $5.3 million. Starting with the largest turnout in the event’s history there are now only six players remaining to battle it out for the title and the $1,298,000 first-place prize.

The Shooting Star main event features a unique format that includes bounties on top players. The only “Shooting Star” player with a bounty on their head remaining in the event is Maria Ho, who will enter the televised final table in third chip position. If one of the other five players knocks out Ho they will score $2,500 from the prize pool and an autographed “I Busted Maria Ho” t-shirt with her picture on it. If she where to come out on top then she would receive her own bounty and become the first female player to ever win a WPT open event in the tour’s 15 seasons.

Ho will have some stiff competition to deal with. Chip leader Stefan Schillhabel will come into the final day with a massive 8.7 million in chips, good for 145 big blinds. Second in chips is Griffin Paul, who took down the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown main event in 2015. Also at the final table are accomplished pros Adam Geyer, Andjelko Andrejevic and Bryan Piccioli.

Anthony Gregg was eliminated in 7th place to set the final table. This was Gregg’s fifth final table finish of the year and he earned another $138,720. With his elimination the final six locked up paydays of at least $179,930. Play resumes at 4:00 PM PT.

Here is a look at at the chip counts heading into the final table:

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Stefan Schillhabel 8,720,000
2 Griffin Paul 5,205,000
3 Maria Ho 3,115,000
4 Adam Geyer 2,030,000
5 Andjelko Andrejevic 1,985,000
6 Bryan Piccioli 1,535,000

Photo courtesy of World Poker Tour / Joe Giron.