Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Andy Philachack Wins 2016 World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw Main Event

Texas Native Wins $393,188 After Topping 1,565-Entry Field


Andy PhilachackThe 2016 World Series of Poker Circuit Choctaw $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event brought out a huge field of 1,565 entries to blow away the tournament’s $1 million guarantee. In the end a total prize pool of $2,347,500 was built, with the lion’s share of that eventually going to Andy Philachack. The 41-year-old chiropractor from Garland, Texas emerged victorious from the sea of entries, earning his second WSOP Circuit gold ring and first-place prize of $393,188. He now has lifetime live tournament earnings in excess of $2.3 million.

“Man, it just feels great,” Philachack told WSOP reporters after the win. “It was a battle. All these guys are wizards.”

Philachack was also awarded 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win, enough to see him climb to eighth place in the overall standings.

Philachack came into the final day of this event in twelfth chip position with twenty players remaining, but was able to survive to final table as one of the short stacks before mounting a comeback. By the time he reached heads-up play he held a 2-to-1 chip lead on his opponent Jeffrey Landherr. The two battled back and forth, but by the time the final hand arose Philachack still had a strong chip advantage.

On the final hand Landherr opened to 520,000 from the button with blinds at 120,000 – 240,000 with an ante of 40,000. Philachack three-bet to 1.5 million and after some thought Landherr moved all in for just over 10 million total. Philachack made the call with the 10Spade Suit10Heart Suit and was in good shape against his opponent’s AClub Suit2Club Suit. The board ran out JDiamond Suit8Spade Suit7Spade Suit6Heart Suit5Club Suit to keep the tens in the lead and send Landherr to the rail as the runner up, taking home $243,694.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Andy Philachack $393,188 1080
2 Jeffrey Landherr $243,694 900
3 Andrew Spears $181,321 720
4 William Berry $136,812 540
5 Noy Ratsaphangthong $104,393 450
6 Justin Liberto $80,566 360
7 Jim Carroll $62,866 270
8 Melvin Lyon $49,603 180
9 Nathan Russler $39,579 90

Winner photo courtesy of WSOP.