Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2015 Card Player Player of the Year -- Taylor Paur Joins Top Ten

A Look At The Biggest Poker Tournament Results Of The Week


Time is running out in the 2015 Card Player Player of the Year race and the top POY contenders are scrambling to make a last-minute move. Here is a look at the tournaments that made the biggest impact on the POY standings over the past seven days:

Aria $25,000 High Rollers XIX and XX

Taylor PaurThe Aria Poker Room in Las Vegas has now played host to twenty $25,000 buy-in high roller no-limit hold’em events throughout 2015, consistently bringing together some of the game’s biggest names to battle it out for big money. This month saw two of these tournaments held back-to-back on Dec. 7 and 8.

The first event drew 23 entries to build a prize pool of $552,000. Just a month after winning the XVII edition of this tournament Taylor Paur emerged victorious in the XIX running, taking home $252,000 and 420 Player of the Year points.

The 2010 Card Player Online Player of the Year winner has made six total final tables in 2015, including three title runs. His biggest score of the year came in the World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star $7,500 no-limit hold’em main event, in which he topped a field of 708 to win $1,214,200 and 1,824 points.

As a result of this most recent win Paur has shot up the leaderboard, landing in seventh place in the overall rankings with 3,984 points and year-to-date earnings of $1,971,944.

The second high roller event drew 39 entries to create a $936,000 prize pool. Matt Berkey came out on top, earning $315,180 and 420 POY points.

WSOP Circuit Harrah’s Cherokee Main Event

Daniel WeinmanThe 2015 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s Cherokee $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event featured a $1 million guaranteed prize pool.

The tournament drew a record turnout of 1,010 total entries to easily surpass the guarantee by over half of a million dollars.

In the end Atlanta, Georgia’s Daniel Weinman emerged victorious from the massive field to capture his first WSOP Circuit gold ring, the $280,260 first-place prize and 960 Player of the Year points. He had finished runner-up in this same event two years ago and was able to improve on that with the win this time around.

This was his second final table of the year and he moved into 308th place in the overall rankings as a result of the win.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Anthony Zinno 6,632 $3,442,769
2 Joe Kuether 6,070 $2,084,691
3 Nick Petrangelo 5,526 $2,347,061
4 Byron Kaverman 5,342 $3,008,957
5 Benjamin Zamani 4,561 $1,095,924
6 Jason Mercier 4,294 $1,896,195
7 Taylor Paur 3,984 $1,971,944
8 Mario Javier Lopez 3,898 $1,204,412
9 Steve O’Dwyer 3,890 $3,733,359
10 Mustapha Kanit 3,860 $2,259,859
11 Joseph Mckeehen 3,748 $7,774,650
12 Dzmitry Urbanovich 3,723 $3,646,914
13 Rainer Kempe 3,720 $920,555
14 Kevin MacPhee 3,710 $1,795,306
15 Ivan Luca 3,493 $1,508,323
16 Igor Yaroshevskyy 3,396 $1,045,372
17 Jack Salter 3,331 $784,954
18 Paul Volpe 3,275 $1,003,036
19 Nipun Java 3,240 $603,262
20 Michael Wang 3,158 $806,474