Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Daniel Weinman Wins 2015 WSOP Circuit Harrah's Cherokee Main Event

Poker Pro Wins $280,260 and First Circuit Gold Ring


The 2015 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s Cherokee $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event featured a $1 million guaranteed prize pool. When all was said and done a record turnout of 1,010 total entries were made in the tournament, easily surpassing the guarantee by over half of a million dollars.

In the end Atlanta, Georgia’s Daniel Weinman emerged victorious from the massive field to capture his first WSOP Circuit gold ring, the $280,260 first-place prize and 960 Card Player Player of the Year points. Incredibly the 27-year-old poker pro had finished runner-up in this same event two years ago, and this time around was able to improve on that impressive result.

“It’s pretty awesome,” Weinman told WSOP reporters after coming out on top. “I was in the same spot two years ago the first time they held this event here. I had the chip lead for a long time at that final table and couldn’t really close it out.”

Weinman entered the final table as the chip leader and was able to navigate his way to heads-up with Edward LeBlanc, entering the final showdown with a big chip lead. On the final hand of the tournament LeBlanc moved all in from the button with the QDiamond Suit2Spade Suit and Weinman called with the ASpade Suit2Club Suit. Weinman was in a dominating position until the flop brought the QClub Suit6Spade Suit4Diamond Suit, pairing LeBlanc’s queen. The 8Club Suit on the turn meant that Weinman needed to catch an ace on the river or LeBlanc would double up. The ADiamond Suit filled that criteria, giving Weinman the superior pair and sending LeBlanc to the rail as the runner-up with $173,286.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Daniel Weinman $280,260 960
2 Edward LeBlanc $173,286 800
3 Kelly Andrews $128,775 640
4 Fikret Kovac $96,809 480
5 Jerry Monroe $73,614 400
6 David Hines $56,631 320
7 Bruce Webb $44,071 240
8 Virgil Beddingfield $34,694 160
9 Hamid Izadi $27,634 80