Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2015 Card Player Player of the Year Race Update -- Byron Kaverman Wins Fourth Title Of The Year

A Look At The Biggest Poker Tournament Results Of The Week


The big European swing, constituted by the World Series of Poker Europe festival and the European Poker Tour Malta series, is now in the book. The final few tournaments of the swing did indeed impart some changes to the standings in the Card Player Player of the Year race. Here is a look at the many tournaments that made the biggest impact on the POY standings over the action-packed past seven days.

European Poker Tour Malta €10,300 High Roller

Byron Kaverman2015 has seen several players put together incredible years on the live tournament circuit, with several people putting together runs that very well could have won them the Player of the Year award if there weren’t several others who somehow have outstripped their incredible performances.

One such player is Byron Kaverman, who has now made fifteen final tables and won four titles in 2015. The most recent of his wins came in the 2015 EPT Malta €10,300 no-limit hold’em high roller. He topped a field of 210 players to win $473,880 and 900 POY points.

With $3,008,957 in year-to-date earnings and 5,342 in POY points accumulated to this point Kaverman now sits in fourth place in the overall standings. Kavermanis now only 1,290 points behind current leader Anthony Zinno. His titles include his victory in this event, his win in the World Series of Poker $10,000 six-max no-limit hold’em event for his first bracelet and two victories in $25,000 high roller events at Aria.

Kaverman topped a stacked final table in this event, defeating Mukul Pahuja (2nd – €290,100) heads-up and outlasting Roberto Romanello (6th – €99,620). Bryn Kenney (7th – €72,730) and recent WSOP Europe main event champion Kevin MacPhee (8th – €53,150). MacPhee also earned 150 POY points in this event, enough to see him climb to eighth place with two bracelet wins this year and six total final tables.

European Poker Tour Malta €5,300 Main Event

Niall FarrellNiall Farrell took down the 2015 European Poker Tour Malta €5,300 no-limit hold’em main event over the weekend, topping a field of 651-entry field to win his first EPT main event title and the €534,300 ($588,211 USD) first-place prize.

Also worth noting is the fact that Farrell became only the second Scottish player to win an EPT main event title after 2010 EPT London champ David Vamplew.

For the win Farrell was also awarded 1,680 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was his third POY-qualified score of the year and the other two came in much smaller events. This win was large enough on it’s own, however, to catapult him into 89th place in the standings.

Germany’s Ranier Kempe was awarded $177,619 and 700 points for his deep run. This was his fifth final table of the year, bringing his yearly POY point total to 2,730 and moving him into 26th place on the leader board.

Right behind him is Sixth-place finisher Samuel Greenwood earned $138,339 and 560 POY points at his sixth final table of the year. This was just a week after placing sixth in the €25,750 no-limit hold’em high roller for and another $121,649 and 196 points. With 2,669 points and $1,214,246 in year-to-date earnings, Greenwood has climbed into 27th place in the standings.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the Card Player Player of the Year race:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Anthony Zinno 6,632 $3,442,769
2 Joe Kuether 5,658 $1,986,272
3 Nick Petrangelo 5,526 $2,347,061
4 Byron Kaverman 5,342 $3,008,957
5 Jason Mercier 4,294 $1,896,195
6 Mustapha Kanit 3,860 $2,259,859
7 Dzmitry Urbanovich 3,723 $3,646,914
8 Kevin MacPhee 3,710 $1,795,306
9 Steve O’Dwyer 3,635 $3,386,779
10 Ivan Luca 3,493 $1,508,323
11 Igor Yaroshevskyy 3,396 $1,045,372
12 Benjamin Zamani 3,361 $843,657
13 Paul Volpe 3,275 $1,003,036
14 Taylor Paur 3,144 $1,446,344
15 Martin Finger 3,116 $1,898,399
16 Erik Seidel 2,960 $4,691,573
16 Javier Zarco 2,960 $1,069,382
18 Jack Salter 2,959 $667,924
19 Barry Hutter 2,956 $1,046,627
20 Jonathan Duhamel 2,940 $4,811,811