Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2015 Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Michael Wang Climbs To Fifteenth

Barry Hutter Also Moved Up The Leaderboard With WinStar Final Table Finish


As summer transitions into fall the weather grows colder, but in the Card Player Player of the Year race things are heating up moving into the final third of the year. Here is a look at the tournaments that most effected the 2015 POY standings over the past seven days:

World Poker Tour Legends of Poker Main Event

Michael WangA total of 786 entries turned out for the 2015 World Poker Tour Legends of Poker main event at the Bicycle Casino in Los Angeles, a 25 percent increase over the 2014 turnout of 593.

In the end Mike Shariati emerged victorious for his first WPT title, the $675,942 top prize and 1,368 Card Player Player of the Year points.

Shariati defeated two-time WPT main event champion Freddy Deeb heads-up for the title, preventing Deeb from joining Anthony Zinno, Gus Hansen and Carlos Mortensen as the only players with three WPT wins. Deeb earned $383,090 and 1,140 POY points for his runner-up finish.

Michael Wang finished seventh, bubbling the televised WPT final table to earn $70,604 and 342 points. This was Wang’s seventh final table finish of 2015, including his win in a $5,000 no-limit hold’em event at the World Series of Poker, which saw him top a field of 422 to win $466,120 and 1,440 points.

With this most recent score Wang has climbed to 15th place in the overall POY standings with 2,664 total points and year-to-date earnings of $753,163.

WinStar The River Poker Series Main Event

Barry HutterThe 2015 running of WinStar’s The River Poker Series $2.5 million guaranteed $2,500 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event drew a sizable field of 1,164 entries to easily surpass the guarantee and build a prize pool of $2,793,600.

Maxx Coleman came out on top to earn the $775,000 first-place prize and 1,440 POY points, making a three-way deal with Joseph Skinner and Jake Haller, who each took home $344,934.

Barry Hutter finished fifth to earn $108,161 and 600 POY points. This was the Bradenton, Florida native’s sixth final table of the year. Like Wang Hutter also won his first WSOP gold bracelet earlier this year, taking down the $1,500 no-limit hold’em shootout to win $283,546 and 960 points.

All told Hutter has accumulated 2,186 POY points and $628,501 in year-to-date earnings. As a result he has moved into 36th place in the Player of the Year rankings.

Here is a look at the current top twenty in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Anthony Zinno 6,488 $3,418,327
2 Nick Petrangelo 4,504 $2,020,265
3 Jason Mercier 4,294 $1,896,195
4 Joe Kuether 3,778 $1,490,557
5 Byron Kaverman 3,777 $2,188,903
6 Dzmitry Urbanovich 3,723 $3,646,914
7 Ivan Luca 3,423 $1,497,915
8 Paul Volpe 3,275 $1,003,036
9 Mustapha Kanit 3,260 $1,988,708
10 Taylor Paur 3,144 $1,446,344
11 Martin Finger 3,116 $1,898,399
12 Igor Yaroshevskyy 3,030 $991,139
13 Dominik Nitsche 2,840 $905,223
14 Benjamin Zamani 2,801 $785,647
15 Michael Wang 2,664 $753,163
16 Steve O’Dwyer 2,646 $2,968,143
17 Justin Liberto 2,608 $876,582
18 Keven Stammen 2,549 $685,443
19 Jose Carlos Garcia 2,545 $636,877
20 Adrian Mateos Diaz 2,536 $1,305,155