Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Daniel Colman and Paul Volpe Headline 2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Main Event Final Table

2014 Champ Colman Looking To Defend His Title, Capture The $1 Million First-Place Prize


2014 Champ Daniel ColmanThe final table is set in the 2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open $5 million guaranteed no-limit hold’em $5,250 buy-in main event, and the reigning champion Daniel Colman is among the final nine competing for the $1 million first place prize.

For the third running of this event the tournament switched from a re-entry format to a freeze out, and as a result of only allowing players to buy-in once decreased the guarantee from the $10,000,000 promised in 2013 and 2014 to $5 million this year.

A total of 907 players turned out to build a $4,398,950 prize pool, falling short of the guarantee to result in a $601,050 overlay.

From the sizable field of entrants now only one table remains to battle it out for the title. Randy Pfeifer is the chip leader with 8,030,000, but much of the focus of the poker world will undeniably be on the third-place player on the leader board: Daniel Colman. The young poker pro topped a field of 1,499 entries in this event last year to win $1,446,710. This was one of the highlights of his unbelievable year in which he took down four titles and make nine final tables, cashing for $22,319,279 in 2014.

Colman will enter the final table with 3,655,000 in chips, which will be 61 big blinds with the limits at 30,000 / 60,000 with an ante of 10,000.

Also still in the mix is 2015 Card Player Player of the Year contender Paul Volpe with 1,160,000 (19 big blinds.) Volpe has won two titles and made eight final tables this year, and although he is short in this event, he is alive with a chance to add to his $903,036 in year-to-date earnings.

Here is a look at the chip counts heading into the final table:

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Randy Pfeifer 8,030,000
2 Omar Zazay 3,840,000
3 Daniel Colman 3,655,000
4 Brian Phillis 3,070,000
5 Larry Moccia 2,730,000
6 Vlad Mezheritsky 2,700,000
7 Paul Volpe 1,160,000
8 Rick Alvarado 1,090,000
9 Joseph Couden 950,000