Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Daniel Alaei Wins His Fifth Career World Series of Poker Bracelet

Alaei Earns $391,037 For Taking Down $10,000 Omaha Eight-Or-Better Event


It seems like every couple of years Daniel Alaei decides to give his cash-game victims a break and hops into a World Series of Poker event, only to punish the field and win yet another bracelet.

This time, the 30-year-old California native took down the $10,000 Omaha Eight-Or-Better event, banking $391,097 and his fifth WSOP title. The victory puts Alaei in good company along with greats such as John Juanda, David Chiu, Scotty Nguyen, Stu Ungar and more.

Although he doesn’t play many tournaments, the win means Alaei is now one of the fastest players in history to earn five bracelets.

“I hadn’t planned on playing that many tournaments this year,” admitted Alaei. “This was my first event to enter, so this was a bit surprising. As far as how this compares, I think they are all pretty sweet. I did win this event in 2009, so it’s nice to win it again. It was especially nice to win since I was so low-stacked when we were heads-up. So, it was really nice to come back and win it.”

Alaei now has $6.85 million in career live tournament earnings. His other bracelets came in 2006 in the $5,000 no-limit 2-7 lowball event, the 2009 $10,000 Omaha eight-or-better event and the 2010 and 2013 $10,000 pot-limit Omaha events.

The event attracted a field of 157 players, creating a total prize pool of $1,475,800. Other notables who finished in the money included Erik Seidel (18th), Eli Elezra (17th), Bart Hanson (16th), Joe Cassidy (11th), Jeremy Ausmus (9th), Michael Wattel (7th), Anthony Zinno (6th), Ken Aldridge (5th) and Scott Clements (4th).

With his sixth-place finish in this event, Anthony Zinno increased his Card Player Player of the Year total to 4,456. He now leads the rest of the field by nearly 1,500 points.

Here is a look at the final table results.

Finish Player Name Prize POY Points
1 Daniel Alaei $391,097 720
2 Kyle Miaso $241,691 600
3 Jeffrey Vaughn $175,088 480
4 Scott Clements $129,235 360
5 Ken Aldridge $97,122 300
6 Anthony Zinno $74,262 240
7 Mike Wattel $57,748 180
8 Tobias Hausen $45,661 120
9 Jeremy Ausmus $36,688 60

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2015 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.