Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2015 Card Player Player of the Year Update -- Michael Wang and Bryn Kenney Into Top Ten

Nick Petrangelo and David Peters Join Top Twenty


The World Series of Poker began a week ago, and already it has shaken up the standings in the 2015 Card Player Player of the Year race. Here’s a look at the biggest tournament results from the first seven days at the Rio:

2015 WSOP $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Michael WangThe first open event of the 2015 World Series of Poker was a $5,000 no-limit hold’em tournament. A total of 422 players turned out, building a prize pool of $1,983,400.

In the end the lion’s share of that money went Michael Wang, who emerged victorious with his first WSOP gold bracelet, the $466,120 first-place prize and a whopping 1,440 Player of the Year points. This was Wang’s fifth final table appearance of the year, bringing his year-to-date earnings to $678,079 and moving him into seventh place in the overall POY rankings.

En route to the win Wang had to overcome a tough final table that featured former bracelet winners Bryn Kenney, Amir Lehavot and Greg Merson and a number of other top pros like Jason Wheeler, Byron Kaverman and Joe Ebanks. In the end it came down to a final showdown between Wang and Kenney. Kenney began with a sizable chip lead, but in the end Wang was able to fight his way back in the match before finding himself on the favorable side of a few coolers.

Kenney earned $287,870 and 1,200 POY points as the runner up. This was his fifth final table as well, including a third-place finish in the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure $100,000 super high roller event for $873,880. With this score Kenney moved into ninth place in the standings with 2,223 points and $1,236,504 in to-date earnings.

Byron Kaverman, who finished ninth for $37,030 and 120 points, climbed to 23rd in the POY standings. This was his sixth final table, with two titles to his name in 2015.

2015 WSOP $3,000 Shootout

Nick PetrangeloNick Petrangelo came out on top in event no. 4 of the 2015 WSOP, the $3,000 no-limit hold’em shootout event. For the win the 28-year-old from Feeding Hills, MA was awarded his first WSOP gold bracelet, the $201,812 first-place prize and 720 POY points. This was Petrangelo’s fourth final table of the year, and as a result he has climbed into 13th place in the overall standings with $879,524 in earning and 1,960 points.

Along the way Petrangelo overcame a final table that featured three former bracelet winners in Loni Harwood, Brian Lemke and Leo Wolpert, a heads-up no-limit hold’em specialist who recently did battle with a supercomputer in Jason Les, an EPT main event champion in Andreas Hoivold and a two-time Academy Award nominee in James Woods.

Joining him in the top 20 is the third-place finisher in this event, David Peters. This was Peters’ third final table of 2015, including a win in a European Poker Tour €10,300 high roller event. The American poker pro now sits in 20th place in the overall POY rankings as a result, with $756,180 and 1,812 points.

Here is a look at the current top 20 in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Anthony Zinno 4,216 $1,519,144
2 Taylor Paur 2,994 $1,422,274
3 Joe Kuether 2,791 $1,307,454
4 Dzmitry Urbanovich 2,598 $2,568,415
5 Adrian Mateos Diaz 2,376 $1,276,805
6 Kevin Schulz 2,308 $1,494,177
7 Michael Wang 2,274 $678,079
8 Jean Montury 2,232 $817,303
9 Bryn Kenney 2,223 $1,236,504
10 Manny Stavropoulos 2,100 $1,270,283
11 Ivan Luca 2,037 $819,144
12 Erik Seidel 2,020 $3,604,266
13 Nick Petrangelo 1,960 $879,524
14 Scott Seiver 1,950 $2,368,868
15 Diego Ventura 1,900 $907,080
16 Jose Ivan Montes 1,872 $593,192
17 Steve O’Dwyer 1,840 $2,582,677
17 Nicholas Pupillo 1,840 $240,417
19 Igor Yaroshevskyy 1,830 $687,372
20 David Peters 1,812 $756,180

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2015 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.