Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Taylor Paur and Ravee Mathi Make Back-to-Back WPT Final Tables

Harrison Gimbel Leads Tough Final Six Battling For $266,857 First-Place Prize


Check out the live stream of the WPT Rolling Thunder main event final table below beginning at 12:30 p.m. PT.

Taylor Paur Seeks Back-To-Back WPT TitlesThe California Swing of the World Poker Tour has had some dramatic final tables. Anthony Zinno won the L.A. Poker Classic main event just weeks after taking down the WPT Fallsview Poker Classic main event, becoming only the third player in the tour’s history to win back-to-back events. Then just a week later Taylor Paur topped a stacked final table at the Bay 101 Shooting Star main event. Now, only four days after that huge win Paur is back at the final table of the third leg of the California Swing, the WPT Rolling Thunder $3,500 no-limit hold’em main event. Incredibly Paur is joined in making back-to-back final tables by Bay 101 sixth-place finisher Ravee Mathi.

A total of 379 players turned out for this tournament, building a prize pool of $1,212,800. Now only six, including Paur and Mathi, remain. The final table returns at 12 p.m. PT on Wednesday, Mar. 18 to determine who will earn the title and the first-place prize of $266,857.

While Paur and Mathi may be the story of this final table, there are a number of other notable players in the final six. The chip leader is none other than 2010 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure and 2010 WPT Fall Poker Open champ Harrison Gimbel.

The WPT Live Stream, sponsored by DraftKings, will air right here on Card Player with a 30-minute delay due to the inclusion of the hole cards (meaning that the stream will begin at 12:30 p.m.).

Here is a look at the chip counts heading into the final table:

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Harrison Gimbel 3,135,000
2 Ravee “Om” Mathi Sundar 2,373,000
3 Taylor Paur 2,293,000
4 Rex Clinkscales 1,508,000
5 Jeff Griffiths 1,318,000
6 Jesse Rockowitz 727,000

Photo courtesy of WPT / Joe Giron.