Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

2014 CarbonPoker Card Player Player of the Year Update -- World Champion Martin Jacobson Climbs To Fifth Place

Ami Barer, Davidi Kitai and Felix Stephensen Also Make Moves


With the World Series of Poker main event and a number of other big tournaments wrapping this week it’s hardly surprising that there was a ton of movement in the 2014 Card Player Player of the Year race, sponsored by CarbonPoker. Here is a look at everything that went down over the past seven days:

World Series of Poker Main Event

Martin JacobsonWith a gigantic field size of 6,683 entrants and a $10,000 buy-in, the World Series of Poker main event is the largest poker tournament of the year. Every year. As a result, it awards the largest amount of Player of the Year points of any event.

This year 27-year-old poker pro Martin Jacobson emerged victorious, earning $10 million and 3,300 POY points. That amount on it’s own would have been enough to move Jacobson into 11th place, but Sweden’s first-ever World Champion had already made three other final tables and won a prelim at the European Poker Tour Vienna festival. As a result he climbed into fifth place in the overall POY standings with 3,908 points and year-to-date earnings of $10,603,088.

Jacobson defeated Norway’s Felix Stephensen heads-up for the bracelet. The man from Oslo may not have become World Champion, but he did earn a $5,147,911 payday and 2,750 POY points. With one other small final table finish to his name in an EPT London prelim Stephensen climbed to 20th in the POY rankings with 2,782 points.

Third-place finisher Jorryt Van Hoof moved into 36th place in the standings after receiving $3,807,753 and 2,200 for his strong showing.

ACOP Main Event

Ami BarerA total of 291 players turned out for the 2014 Asia Championship of Poker $100,000 HKD ($12,902 USD) no-limit hold’em main event, building a prize pool worth $3,493,163 USD.

In the end Gabriel Le Jossec emerged victorious, earning $812,903 and 1,140 POY points.

Canada’s Ami Barer finished fourth for $261,290 and 570 POY points. This was Barer’s sixth final table showing of 2014, with his biggest score coming in January when he took down the Aussie Millions main event for more than $1.4 million. Barer also finished fourth in a €10,300 high roller at the EPT Barcelona festival. With 4,582 points and $2,267,734 earned so far in 2014 Barer now sits in third place in the overall POY standings.

ACOP High Roller

Davidi KitaiBelgium’s Davidi Kitai is a triple crown winner, but it seems he is making a run at becoming the first player to win EPT, WPT, WSOP titles and the Card Player Player of the Year award. Kitai made his sixth final table of the year in the $500,000 HKD super high roller at the ACOP (finishing eighth for $312,124 and 85 points) and then just days later placed fifth in the $250,000 HKD ($32,234 USD) buy-in high roller for $203,060 and 280 more POY points.

Kitai has made seven final tables in total in 2014, with his largest scores being a third place finish in the €25,500 high roller at the EPT Grand Final in Monte Carlo and his win in the $3,000 six-max no-limit hold’em event at this year’s WSOP. With this most recent finish in the ACOP high roller Kitai has climbed to 12th in the POY standings.

The event drew 83 players, building a prize pool of more than %2.5 million USD. Fabian Quoss came out on top for $685,230 and 672 POY points.

Here is a look at the current top twenty in the POY standings:

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1 Daniel Colman 5,498 $22,319,279
2 Mike Leah 4,678 $2,039,526
3 Ami Barer 4,582 $2,267,734
4 Mustapha Kanit 4,514 $1,234,776
5 Martin Jacobson 3,908 $10,603,088
6 Jake Schindler 3,700 $2,156,184
7 Dan Smith 3,353 $2,958,709
8 Dylan Wilkerson 3,316 $1,076,307
9 Dominik Panka 3,315 $1,840,936
10 Mike McDonald 3,312 $4,357,089
11 Keven Stammen 3,262 $1,655,439
12 Davidi Kitai 3,153 $1,984,053
13 Jason Mercier 3,106 $2,778,584
14 Jack Salter 3,060 $1,616,603
15 Brandon Shack-Harris 3,026 $1,415,849
16 Doug Polk 3,010 $3,503,603
17 Joseph Mckeehen 2,924 $1,193,232
18 Henrik Hecklen 2,896 $713,131
19 Kevin Eyster 2,874 $899,019
20 Felix Stephensen 2,782 $5,156,759