Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Jeffrey Lisandro Wins Sixth World Series of Poker Bracelet In Australia

Australian Poker Pro Joins Daniel Negreanu As Only Players To Win WSOP Bracelets On Three Continents


Jeffrey LisandroAustralian poker pro Jeffrey Lisandro topped a field of 123 players in the 2014 World Series of Poker Asia Pacific $1,650 AUD pot-limit Omaha event to win his sixth WSOP gold bracelet. For the win Lisandro also earned $51,660 AUD ($44,805 USD) and the distinction of joining Daniel Negreanu as the only two players to win gold bracelets on three different continents. Lisandro also joins Negreanu, Ted Forrest, Jay Heimowitz, TJ Cloutier and Layne Flack in holding six bracelets.

Lisandro came into the six-handed final table in this three-day event in third chip position, but after only 35 hands only he and Jason Gray remained to battle it out for the title and the bracelet. The two player nearly 100 hands heads-up, finally getting it in after limping to see a flop of 7Heart Suit5Heart Suit2Club Suit. Gray fired 12,000 and Lisandro raised. Gray moved all in and Lisandro called with the AHeart SuitKHeart SuitJDiamond Suit5Spade Suit.

Gray held the JHeart Suit7Club Suit5Diamond Suit4Diamond Suit for the best had at the moment with two pair. The 4Spade Suit on the turn say Lisandro pick up a gutshot straight draw in addition to his nut flush draw, and the 3Diamond Suit on the river completed that draw to give Lisandro the wheel. His straight earned him the pot and the title and sent Gray to the rail as the runner up.

Lisandro held a 6-to-5 chip advantage at the beginning of heads-up play, and the two
“It was really, really tough playing Jason heads-up, he really wanted to win,” said Lisandro. “I’ve won one in Europe, four in America and now one in Australia.”

Here is a look at the payouts and Card Player Player of the Year points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Jeffrey Lisandro $45,461 264
2 Jason Gray $28,099 220
3 Zane Ly $20,039 176
4 Gary Benson $14,757 132
5 Paul Sharbanee $10,808 110
6 Paul Mac $8,168 88