Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Davidi Kitai Wins World Series of Poker $3,000 Six-Handed No-Limit Hold'em Event

Davidi Kitai Picks Up Third Career WSOP Bracelet


Davidi KitaiCard Player’s 2014 WSOP coverage is sponsored by CarbonPoker.

The World Series of Poker $3,000 six-handed no-limit hold’em event needed an extra day to wrap things up, but in the end, Belgium’s Davidi Kitai picked up his third career gold bracelet and became the first non-American player to win a title at this year’s summer series.

“It’s very good for me to win not just for Belgium, but for France, too,” Kitai said. “I have hundreds of followers and everyone was texting me and posting nice things. It is nice when you know the people back home are watching.”

Kitai, who is one of only five players in poker history to win the Triple Crown consisting of a WSOP, EPT and WPT title, earned $508,640 for topping a final table that included Gordon Vayo (2nd) and Tony Ruberto (3rd).

Kitai earned his first gold bracelet in 2008, winning a $2,000 pot-limit hold’em event for $244,583. His second came in 2013, topping the $5,000 pot-limit hold’em event for $224,560. He now has nearly $4.7 million in career tournament earnings.

The Belgian pro also picked up 1,368 Card Player Player of the Year points for his finish, giving him a total of 2,588, which is good enough for fifth place overall. This was his fourth final table of the year.

Kitai’s victory overshadowed another deep run by Phil Hellmuth, who was gunning for his 50th career WSOP final table. Hellmuth busted in eighth place, earning $45,022.

Before being eliminated, he took some time to berate Kitai, according to the WSOP live updates, saying, “Crazy Frenchman is going to cost me my 14th bracelet. You have no chance to win, sir.” He later added, “Of course he’s never won a tournament before,” apparently oblivious to Kitai’s lengthy list of accomplishments.

Here is a look at the final table results.

Finish Player Winnings POY Points
1 Davidi Kitai $508,640 1,368
2 Gordon Vayo $314,535 1,140
3 Tony Ruberto0 $200,476 912
4 Mark Darner $132,169 684
5 John Andress $89,734 570
6 Zachary Korik $62,690 456

*Photo courtesy of the WSOP

For more coverage from the 2014 summer series, visit our WSOP landing page.

If you can’t get down to the Rio, you can still compete with Carbon Poker. Click the banner below for more information. Card Player readers are eligible for an initial deposit bonus of 200 percent up to $5,000.