Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Jonathan Roy Wins Inaugural World Poker Tour Montreal Title

Canadian Wins $784,101 For Topping 1,173-Player Field


Jonathan Roy The first-ever World Poker Tour Montreal $3,300 no-limit hold’em championship event drew an incredible field of 1,173 entrants, building a massive prize pool of nearly $3.4 million. After five days of action the last player standing was Canadian Jonathan Roy.

The 25-year-old student from Boucherville, Quebec earned $784,101 and 1,440 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was Roy’s second title and third final table of the year, and as a result he has climbed to 40th place in the overall POY standings.

Roy overcame a tough final table that featured one of Canada’s most successful pros ever in Gavin Smith (4th – $212,973), Jeff Gross (3rd – $319,238) and runner-up Pascal LeFrancois (2nd – $473,572). The majority of the final table was played three handed in front of a packed cheering section that included Jeff Gross’ good friend, Olympic gold-medal record holder Michael Phelps.

After more than 100 hands of three-handed action, it took only 28 hands of heads-up play for Roy to overcome fellow Canadian LeFrancois. Roy began with a 5-4 chip lead, but the heads-up action was close until the key hand took place.

LeFrancois opened for a min-raise on the button to $1,000,000 and Roy three-bet to $2.4 million. Pascal moved all-in over the top of that and Roy called with KSpade Suit QClub Suit, having roughly only one big blind less than LeFrancois who revealed the 6Spade Suit 6Heart Suit. Roy won the race when the board ran out KDiamond Suit 7Heart Suit 7Club Suit QDiamond Suit JHeart Suit. LeFrancois was left crippled, and was eliminated on the very next hand.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the televised WPT final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Jonathan Roy $784,101 1,440
2 Pascal LeFrancois $473,572 1,200
3 Jeffrey Gross $319,238 960
4 Gavin Smith $212,973 720
5 Sylvain Siebert $147,184 600
6 Peter Kaemmerlen $113,792 480

Other notables who made deep runs but fell just short of making the final table include Ashton Griffin (13th – $25,070), Amanda Musumeci (14th – $25,070), Bruce Buffer (19th – $17,615), Jason Koon (22nd – $17,615), Timothy Adams (25th – $17,615), Mike McDonald (27th – $17,615), Christian Harder (30th – $14,905) and Dan Smith (42nd – $12,535).