Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Watch The World Poker Tour Montreal Final Table Live Stream

Jeff Gross, Pascal LeFrancois and Gavin Smith Highlight Final Six


Jeff GrossThe final table of the 2012 World Poker Tour Montreal $3,300 no-limit hold’em main event is set and the exciting battle for the title and first prize of $779,710 will be streaming live, with hole cards, right here on Card Player starting at 4:30 PM EST.

Play will have kicked off at 4 p.m., but the broadcast will be on a 30-minute delay because of the hole card cameras, and will feature expert commentary from both WPT Raw Deal segment host Tony Dunst and top tournament professional Mike “Timex” McDonald, who finished 27th in this very event.

An incredible 1,173 entries were made in the first ever running of this event, building a prizepool of $3,387,930. This huge turnout set a number of records, including that for largest field in a non-U.S. WPT event in the tour’s history, and also the largest field in a Canadian poker tournament with a buy-in of $1,000 or higher.

Though the poker room at Playground Poker was once full to the brim, now only six players remain. Sylvain Siebert and Jeff Gross are essentially tied for the chip lead, with 8.85 million and 8.65 million respectively.

Gavin SmithSiebert is relatively unknown, but Gross has been a successful pro for years, with nearly $700,000 in live earnings and almost as much online, where he is known as “kidwhowon”. Gross has also come into the spotlight for his relationship with all-time Olympic gold medal leader Michael Phelps, who he befriended in college and who has backed Gross in tournaments previously.

Fourth in chips is Québec native Pascal LeFrancois, a World Series of Poker gold bracelet winner who also finished 11th in the 2010 WSOP main event.

The most recognizable name in the final six is undoubtedly Canada’s own Gavin Smith, who enters the final table as the shortest stack. But what Smith might lack in chips to start, he more than makes up for in experience. Smith has roughly $5.3 million in lifetime earnings and is the only player at the final table to have won a WPT title. This is his fourth WPT final table.

Here is a look at the seat draw and chip counts heading into the final day:

Seat 1: Jonathan Roy — 7,480,000 (62 bb)
Seat 2: Pascal Lefrancois — 6,065,000 (50 bb)
Seat 3: Jeff Gross — 8,650,000 (72 bb)
Seat 4: Gavin Smith — 1,605,000 (13 bb)
Seat 5: Peter Kaemmerlen — 2,405,000 (20 bb)
Seat 6: Sylvain Siebert — 8,850,000 (73 bb)

Notables who made deep runs but fell just short of making the final table include Ashton Griffin (13th – $25,070), Amanda Musumeci (14th – $25,070), Bruce Buffer (19th – $17,615), Jason Koon (22nd – $17,615), Timothy Adams (25th – $17,615), Mike McDonald (27th – $17,615), Christian Harder (30th – $14,905) and Dan Smith (42nd – $12,535).