Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Cary Marshall Wins World Series of Poker Circuit Harveys Lake Tahoe Main Event

Alaskan Pro Wins Biggest Main Event Ever Held At Lake Tahoe


A total of 422 players turned out for the 2012 World Series of Poker Circuit Harveys Lake Tahoe $1,675 no-limit hold’em main event, building a $633,000 prize pool. The last player standing was Cary Marshall, from King Salmon, Alaska. For the win the 62-year-old poker pro earned $139,260 and 720 Card Player Player of the Year points.

This was Marshall’s first major tournament title, but he has made deep runs before including two good results at this year’s WSOP, finishing 15th in a $1,500 no-limit hold’em event and 13th in a $3,000 limit hold’em tournament.

Marshall entered the final table in third chip position, but was able to make a number of big hands in key situations in order to seal the deal. On the final hand, he made a straight on the river with KSpade Suit8Club Suit on a 9Heart Suit7Diamond Suit6Heart SuitJSpade Suit5Diamond Suit board. His heads-up opponent Derrick Yamada got the last of his chips in on the river, revealing that he had turned a set with JHeart SuitJClub Suit and finding out the bad news that his hand was no good. With that, Yamada was eliminated in second place, earning $86,056 and 600 POY points.

Other notables who made the money in this event include Clint Baskin (4th – $46,690), Jesse Rockowitz (6th – $26,947), Gordon Vayo (21st – $6,134), Joshua Pollack (24th – $5,235), Chris Bonita (27th – $4,526) and Ylon Schwartz (42nd – $2,861).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Cary Marshall $139,260 720
2 Derrick Yamada $86,056 600
3 John Deng $62,882 480
4 Clint Baskin $46,690 360
5 Ping Liu $35,207 300
6 Jesse Rockowitz $26,947 240
7 John Song $20,927 180
8 Richard Hanley $16,483 120
9 Shawn Van Asdale $13,166 60