Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Panayote 'Pete' Vilandos Wins His Third Career World Series of Poker Bracelet

Kyle Julius And Dan Smith Vault Into Top Two In Player Of The Year Race


Panayote VilandosThough it was overshadowed by the kickoff of the $1 million buy-in Big One For One Drop tournament, there was still some big money up for grabs in event no. 50 of the 2012 World Series of Poker, the $5,000 no-limit hold’em tournament.

A total of 1,001 players put up the buy-in, creating a total prize pool of $4,704,700. After four days of play, it was none other than Panayote “Pete” Vilandos who took it down, claiming his third career WSOP bracelet and a massive $952,694 payday.

“Happy cards go to happy people,” said Vilandos. “And, I’m happy.”

The 72-year-old retiree from Greece has more than $3 million in lifetime tournament earnings and last won a bracelet in 2009. His first came in a pot-limit Omaha event in 1995.

Vilandos defeated a stacked final table that included Amir Lehavot, Tommy Vedes, Matt Giannetti, Dan Smith and Kyle Julius.

Kyle JuliusSmith, who finished third, earned $368,943 and 1,280 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was his sixth final table of the year, having won the $100,000 high roller at the Aussie Millions for $1,060,981 in January, along with three €5,000 side events at EPT Monte Carlo. With 3,488 POY Points, Smith is now sitting in second place overall.

Not to be outdone, however, was runner-up finisher Kyle Julius, who pocketed $589,687 and 1,600 POY Points. Julius finished second in the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event in January for $1,500,000. With 3,600 POY points, he is now in first place overall, holding a slight lead over Smith and Aussie Oliver Speidel.

Here is a look at the final table results.

Finish Player Name Prize POY Points
1 Panayote Vilandos $952,694 1,920
2 Kyle Julius $589,687 1,600
3 Dan Smith $368,943 1,280
4 Kevin Schulz $267,792 960
5 Derek Gregory $197,691 800
6 Thomas Conway $148,198 640
7 Matt Giannetti $112,725 480
8 Tommy Vedes $86,896 320
9 Amir Lehavot $67,889 160

For complete coverage of the summer poker festival, check out our WSOP landing page.