Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Sam Trickett Wins Partouche Poker Tour Final Main Event

Trickett, Kovalchuk Jump Into Player of the Year Top Ten


Sam TrickettJust like the World Series of Poker, the Partouche Poker Tour main event final table was delayed by two months before a champion could be crowned.

The final nine were determined back in September, but it wasn’t until Saturday that they gathered to play out the final table. Sam Trickett came into the contest with a slight chip lead over his eight other competitors and when play was paused for the night, he held a similar role entering the final day.

In the end, it came down to Trickett and Salman Behbehani for the title. Behbehani held a 2-1 chip lead, but Trickett was able to battle back for the championship and the €1,000,000 first-place prize. Behbehani had to settle for a €600,000 consolation prize.

This was Trickett’s third six-figure score of the year, after winning the $100,000 Challenge at the Aussie Millions and then following it up with a second-place finish to Erik Seidel in the $250,000 Super High Roller event.

The 2,400 Card Player Player of the Year points he earned for the victory now vault him into eighth place overall in the rankings. Trickett now has nearly $6.5 million in career earnings.

Other notables at the final table included Oleksii Kovalchuk (third), Roger Hairabedian (fifth), Alexander Dovzhenko (sixth) and Mads Wissing (ninth).

Kovalchuk, who picked up €379,760 and 1,600 POY points, now moves into third place behind Chris Moorman and Ben Lamb. Kovalchuk has three other wins in 2011, having taken down a Russian Poker Tour event, the main event at the IPT Nova Gorica and a World Series of Poker bracelet this summer.

Here is a look at the final table results.

1. Samuel Trickett — €1,000,000
2. Salman Behbehani — €600,000
3. Oleksii Kovalchuk — €379,760
4. Ilan Boujenah — €300,000
5. Roger Hairabedian — €230,000
6. Alexander Dovzhenko — €190,000
7. Mustapha Kanit — €160,000
8. Alexandre Coussy — €130,000
9. Mads Wissing — €100,000