Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Barry Greenstein, Linda Johnson Inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame

The Hall Now Includes 42 Members


Barry Greenstein and Linda JohnsonOn Tuesday evening, shortly before the start of the 2011 World Series of Poker final table, Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson were inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame.

Fellow member Doyle Brunson gave a brief introduction to Greenstein, who spent some of his speaking time talking about the future of the game. He said that one day players will be inducted solely based on their online results, “assuming we have a functional Congress.”

Greenstein, winner of three WSOP bracelets and $7.7 million lifetime in tournaments, is widely regarded as one of the best cash game players of all-time. The poker author has also been a fixture in some of TV’s most historic cash games, such as High Stakes Poker.

Mike Sexton gave words regarding WSOP bracelet-winner Johnson, the second female to join the Hall of Fame. She was the publisher and part owner of Card Player magazine for nearly eight years and is still a prominent figure in the poker business world.

Greenstein and Johnson beat out Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Marcel Luske, Jack McClelland, Tom McEvoy, Scotty Nguyen, Huck Seed, and Annie Duke to be the 2011 class.

There are now 42 members of the Poker Hall of Fame. In order to be considered, a 40-year-old and above candidate must have played consistently well against top competition for high stakes and have stood the test of time, while also gaining the respect of their peers. Non-players must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011

Follow Brian Pempus on Twitter — @brianpempus