Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Series of Poker -- $50,000 Player’s Championship Begins Saturday

The Top Players in the World will Vie for the Chip Reese Trophy in this Prestigious Eight-Game Mixed Championship


Michael MizrachiOne of the marquee events of the summer begins on Saturday, July 2 when cards get into the air in the $50,000 Player’s Championship at the 2011 World Series of Poker. This is the second year that the event will feature an eight-game mixed format as opposed to the H.O.R.S.E. format that used to be featured in the event.

The eight games played will be limit hold’em, Omaha eight-or-better, seven-card razz, seven-card stud, seven-card stud eight-or-better, no-limit hold’em, pot-limit Omaha, and deuce-to-seven triple draw lowball.

Last year Michael Mizrachi topped a field of 116 players to take home the top prize worth $1,559,046 and add his name to a hallowed list of players on the Chip Reese Memorial trophy. He defeated a highly talented field and a loaded final table that included legends like John Juanda and cash-game specialists like David Oppenheim and Daniel Alaei. This year’s field is sure to attract the top talent in the game once again.

Players will begin with 150,000 in tournament chips. The game will change every eight hands. All levels will be 100 minutes in length and there will be a 15-minute break after every level. There will be a 30-minute dinner break on day 1 after level 3. Subsequent days will feature 60-minute dinner breaks.

Card Player will bring you full recaps and photo for the event each night and CardPlayer TV will bring you videos daily from the tournament.

Here is a look at the schedule for the event:

Saturday, July 2: Day 1 (Play five levels)
Sunday, July 3: Day 2 (Play five levels)
Monday, July 4: Day 3 (Play five or six levels)
Tuesday, July 5: Day 4 (Play down to final table)
Wednesday, July 6: Final Day

2010 World Series of Poker Player’s Championship:

Buy-in: $50,000
Number of Entries: 116
Total Prize Pool: $5,568,000
First-Place Prize: $1,559,046
Places Paid: 16

Final-Table Results:

1: Michael Mizrachi — $1,559,046
2: Vladimir Shchemelev — $963,375
3: David Oppenheim — $603,348
4: John Juanda — $436,856
5: Robert Mizrachi — $341,429
6: David Baker — $272,275
7: Daniel Alaei — $221,105
8: Mikael Thuritz — $182,463

Former Chip Reese Trophy Winners:

2010: Michael Mizrachi
2009: David Bach
2008: Scotty Nguyen
2007: Freddy Deeb
2006: Chip Reese



almost 11 years ago

With excitement peaking for poker fans over the weekend with the start of the world series there are many that are brooding over their losses at the FTP. Well it may really take some time for the bickering to get over between Fulltilt and all those affected. What is disheartening is that the faith is lost in sites as such. The government has to step in and either ban these sites or legalize online poker, regulate the industry and make a revenue out of it. Sites like 888poker, partypoker and friends are seeing more traffic into their sites after FTP crumbled. Since 888poker and Party are legal online poker the shift of alliance is understandable when insecurity and uncertainity looms large over online poker.