Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Grant Levy Wins ANZPT Perth Crown

Australian Pro Becomes Second Player to Record APPT and ANZPT Wins


Grant Levy has won an APPT and now an ANZPT title.Sydney’s Grant Levy took down the PokerStars ANZPT Perth championship over the weekend. Along with the ANZPT trophy and the $131,500 top prize, Levy also became the second player in history with a résumé boasting both an APPT and ANZPT title. He won the APPT Grand Final in 2007.

A field of 220 players entered the AUD$2,500 buy-in main event inside west Australia’s Burswood Casino. A prize pool of $506,000 was created, and the top 24 finishers were guaranteed at least $4,550. Last year’s ANZPT Perth winner and AZNPT Player of the Year Tony Hachem nearly made this year’s final table, finishing in 14th place.

The field whittled down to a final table featuring only natives of Australia, except for Ireland’s Patrick Kearns. Levy sat down as chip leader and kept his momentum rolling, eventually finding himself heads-up with John Corr. After more than 3 hours of heads-up play, Levy made one last move that put him a coin flip away from winning the ANZPT Perth championship. He held JSpade SuitJClub Suit against Corr’s ASpade SuitKClub Suit — the same coin flip that won Hachem this event in 2010. The board ran out QClub Suit7Diamond Suit7Club Suit3Diamond Suit10Diamond Suit and Levy was crowned champion. Corr took $83,500 as runner-up.

Here’s a look at the final table results:

1. Grant Levy — $131,500
2. John Corr — $83,500
3. Tim Marsters — $47,000
4. Aaron Lim — $38,000
5. Patrick Kearns — $31,600
6. Han Luu — $26,600
7. Peter Parsons — $21,500
8. Ted Nguyen — $16,450

The next stop for the ANZPT is in Sydney, Australia April 13-17.



11 years ago

Congratulations Grant Levy for this great win.
online dating