Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Aussie Millions: Main Event Day 4

Patrik Antonius and Chris Moorman Headline Tomorrow’s Final Table


Patrik AntoniusDay 4 at the 2011 Aussie Millions welcomed back 18 players at three, six-handed tables and by the end of play just one final table of six remained. All eyes were focused on the big names left in the tournament throughout the day, which included Patrik Antonius, Sorel Mizzi, Chris Moorman, Tobias Reinkemeier, and Australian Mark Vos.

The day turned out to be a tale involving the extremes in the speed of play that can take place at a poker tournament. Play started out slow, and an hour transpired before Vos was the first player to fall in 18th place. After his elimination the flood gates opened and there was a brisk flow of eliminations.

After Vos broke the seal Reinkemeier, Cliff Lee, Manny Stavropoulos, Tyler Bonkowski, Eli Heath, David Menz all fell in an hours time, and took the field down to 11 players. There was a slight hesitation in the elimination pace at that point, but Shane Sigsbee and Randy Lew were on short stacks at that point and they fell in 11th place and 10th place respectively.

Sorel Mizzi was the next player to hit the rail and he did it in an agonizing way. The money went in on the turn of a 8Diamond Suit 8Club Suit 3Heart Suit 8Spade Suit board and Mizzi was well in the lead with pocket threes for a full house. Michael Ryan had him covered but he was behind with ASpade Suit KClub Suit in the hole. That was until the river brought the Ac to give Ryan the better full house and send Mizzi to the rail.

After Mizzi made his exit play was paused so the final eight could grab new seats at the final table. Here were how things settled with their new seats and chip counts:

Seat 1: Chris Moorman — 1,867,000
Seat 2: James Keys — 1,922,000
Seat 3: Patrik Antonius — 1,963,000
Seat 4: Jeff Rossiter — 1,240,000
Seat 5: Randy Dorfman — 1,537,000
Seat 6: David Gorr — 2,325,000
Seat 7: Sam Razavi — 1,654,000
Seat 8: Michael Ryan — 1,963,000

A decision was made at that point to continue forward in order to make it to the final six for tomorrow, since the final eight was reached so quickly. But this was when another major shift in the pace of play occurred and an early evening turned into a late night on the felt. The prolonged period of play served as little more than an extended warm-up period for tomorrow’s final table. The players traded chips but no one hit the rail during multiple hours of play.

The final table of eight will begin at 12:30 p.m. local time tomorrow and Card Player will bring you live updates, chip counts, photos, and videos from Card Player TV throughout the day. Here is a look at the chip counts for tomorrow’s final table:

Seat 1: Chris Moorman — 955,000
Seat 2: James Keys — 2,395,000
Seat 3: Patrik Antonius — 1,300,000
Seat 4: Jeffrey Rossiter — 1,235,000
Seat 5: Randy Dorfman — 3,895,000
Seat 6: David Gorr — 2,370,000
Seat 7: Sam Razavi — 1,360,000
Seat 8: Michael Ryan — 960,000