Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Tobias Reinkemeier Leads After Day 1 at 2011 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Super High Roller Event

Winner Takes Home $1.5 Million


Daniel NegreanuThe highly anticipated $100,000 buy-in Super High Roller event at the 2011 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure drew stacked field of 38 of the world’s best and on Saturday, one of those players will claim the $1.5 million first-place prize.

With 250 big blinds and hour-long levels, many expected a slow grind and few early casualties. That notion went out the window when Nick Schulman knocked out Koen Berendsen just 30 minutes into play in an aces against kings situation. Schulman rode that early pot to a successful day, finishing with 705,000 and in fourth place overall.

Just ahead of him in third place is Bryn Kenney, who was able to get the entire stack of Hoyt Corkins in a set over set situation. Kenney finished the day with 828,000.

Tobias ReinkemeierHad the day ended just one minute earlier, Daniel Negreanu would have been the overall chip leader with 848,000. Instead, Tobias Reinkemeier stole the show by getting his pocket jacks to outdraw Shawn Buchanan and his pocket aces on the last hand of the night. As a result, Reinkemeier will take 896,000 into Friday as the chip leader over the remaining 23 players.

A six-figure buy in tournament is sure to draw its fair share of high stakes cash game players and this field was no different. Dan “Jungleman12” Cates flourished throughout the day to finish with 622,000, good enough for fifth place. Fellow online phenom Viktor Blom wasn’t so lucky, busting to Vivek Rajkumar after the dinner break.

Other notables to hit the rail included Bertrand Grospellier, Jonathan Duhamel, Bill Chen, Tom Marchese, Scott Seiver, David Baker and Guy Laliberte.

The action will resume at noon EST as the field continues to battle down to the final table. Check out the chip counts below.

Rank Player Name Chip Count
1 Tobias Reinkemeier 896,000
2 Daniel Negreanu 848,000
3 Bryn Kenney 828,000
4 Nick Schulman 705,000
5 Daniel Cates 622,000
6 Eugene Katchalov 551,000
7 Andrew Lichtenberger 494,000
8 Vivek Rajkumar 483,000
9 Jason Mercier 459,000
10 Caio Pimenta 409,000
11 Sandor Demjan 401,000
12 James Obst 390,000
13 Antonio Esfandiari 330,000
14 Andrew Robl 324,000
15 Humberto Brenes 318,000
16 Mike McDonald 269,000
17 Sorel Mizzi 249,000
18 Shawn Buchanan 209,000
19 David Benyamine 202,000
20 Matt Glantz 148,000
21 Bryan Colin 134,000
22 Justin Smith 116,000
23 Phil Laak 99,000