Poker Coverage:

Taylor Paur Leads OPOY Race Entering Last Week Of Competition

Steve 'gboro780' Gross In Line For Third Consecutive Top Three Finish


Taylor PaurThere’s only a week’s worth of results left to enter for the 2010 Card Player Online Player of the Year race, but the overall winner is far from determined.

Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur currently holds a 840-lead over the rest of the competition, but a deep finish in any of the Sunday majors would allow anyone else in the top five to pass him. Paur surged ahead of the pack by winning the Full Tilt Poker Sunday Mulligan last week for $55,616, but he’s done little else to secure his spot as champion.

Steve GrossSitting just behind him is Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek, who is in the midst of a late season scramble for points. Jarzabek recently took third in the Absolute Poker $100,000 Guarantee to jump ahead of current third-place resident, Steve “gboro780” Gross.

What Gross has accomplished in the last three years is incredible. After finishing second in 2008, the member of the Brunson 10 stormed back the next year to win it all. He’s now in line for his third consecutive top 3 finish and has won $3,071,617 in OPOY-qualifying earnings.

Be sure to check back in the new year to see who is crowned as the 2010 Online Player of the Year.

Check out the top 10 rankings below.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1 Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 10,772 $1,073,311
2 Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 9,932 $782,355
3 Steve “gboro780” Gross 9,700 $967,294
4 Chris “Getting Daize” Oliver 9,268 $854,769
5 kirbynator 8,718 $1,134,849
6 Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy 8,714 $819,274
7 Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet 8,702 $831,677
8 Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra 8,688 $1,319,012
9 Zachary “HustlerGrune” Gruneberg 8,624 $737,366
10 Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal 8,432 $800,733