Join A Poker Community Of 200,000+ Users!

Online Player of the Year Update: Taylor Paur Leads Constantly Changing Top 10

Jon Van Fleet, Zachary Gruneberg and Cliff Josephy Break Into Top 10


Taylor PaurThere’s only one month left in the Card Player Online Player of the Year race and the winner is far from decided. Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur still leads the way, but the cast of characters behind him changes on a weekly basis.

Paur is the first player to crack the five-figure mark with 10,028 points, but he won’t be the last. In 2009, Steve “gboro780” Gross was the only player to accomplish the feat, finishing the year with 10,188 points. Coincidentally, Gross has fallen outside of the top 10 altogether in 2010 and now resides in 11th place.

Jon Van FleetCasey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek (second) and Chris “Gettin Daize” Oliver (third) have been relatively quiet during the month of November and have allowed many behind them to make up some ground, including current fourth place resident Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet.

Van Fleet has put together a solid two-year run after finishing 2009 in 12th place. This year, he has earned over $825,000 and has earned an FTOPS title and another six-figure score for taking down a WCOOP second chance event.

Cliff JosephyZachary “HustlerGrune” Gruneberg has spent much of the year sitting just outside the top 10, but a late run has seen him move all the way up to sixth place, just behind kirbynator. Gruneberg has made 10 OPOY-qualifying final tables in the last two months and has earned over $725,000 on the year.

Online legend Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy has finally cracked the top 10 as well, after making five final tables in the month of November, including a win in the Full Tilt $1K Monday. Josephy will likely finish the year with his highest ever ranking, after finishing 40th in 2007 and 39th in 2008.

The rest of the top 10 is rounded out by Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal (seventh), Mark “dipthrong” Herm (ninth) and Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra (tenth).

Take a look at the standings below.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1 Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 10,028 $1,015,473
2 Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 9,558 $761,443
3 Chris “Getting Daize” Oliver 9,244 $852,569
4 Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet 8,638 $826,240
5 kirbynator 8,558 $1,125,949
6 Zachary “HustlerGrune” Gruneberg 8,474 $728,412
7 Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal 8,432 $739,105
8 Cliff “JohnnyBax” Josephy 8,290 $791,544
9 Mark “dipthrong” Herm 8,072 $799,303
10 Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra 8,012 $1,217,513