Sign-up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Taylor 'ambiguosity' Paur Sits Atop Online Player of the Year Standings

Casey 'bigdogpckt5s' Jarzabek and Chris 'Gettin Daize' Oliver Round Out Top Three


Taylor PaurThree months ago, Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur was atop the 2010 Card Player Online Player of the Year standings. Then, a two-month dry spell saw him plummet and Paur was suddenly in danger of falling out of the top 10.

Two weeks ago, however, Paur made a dramatic comeback, rattling off three straight wins to earn 1,560 combined OPOY points and put himself back in first place overall. In a three-day stretch in late October, the 21-year-old pro from California won the PokerStars Nightly Hundred Grand twice and then topped it off by taking down the Sunday 500. All told, Paur has now earned nearly $1 million this year online.

After temporarily being passed by Chris “Gettin Daize” Oliver, Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek reclaimed the second-place spot by final tabling the $150K Guarantee on Absolute Poker. He and Oliver now sit just 214 points apart. Amazingly, last year only three players were able to crack the 9,000-point mark. This year three players have done so despite almost two months remaining in the race.

Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal and kirbynator round out the top five, but they have managed to put some distance between themselves and the rest of the top 10.

Raj VohraRaj “BadcardsAA” Vohra currently sits in sixth place, but has had arguably the best overall year of any online player, having won more money than anybody else in the top 10. Vohra has earned $1,214,107 online in 2010, which is good for fourth overall behind PokerStars WCOOP main event winner Tyson “POTTERPOKER” Marks, WCOOP main event runner up joeysweetp and SCOOP main event champion Ryan “toetagu” Fair.

Last year’s OPOY champion, Steve “gboro780” Gross, hasn’t been putting in nearly the volume that allowed him to win in 2009, but somehow his good finishes have kept him in the hunt in seventh place until now. The rest of the top 10 is represented by mralan2950 (eighth), Chris “cdbr3799” Dombrowski (ninth) and Mark “dipthrong” Herm (tenth).

There are still plenty of opportunities over the next two months for players to make a run at the title and it all starts with the upcoming Full Tilt Online Poker Series XVIII (FTOPS) and PokerStars Regional Championship of Online Poker (RCOOP).

Check out the top ten standings below.

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1st Taylor “ambiguosity” Paur 9,268 $977,949
2nd Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 9,222 $727,471
3rd Chris “Getting Daize” Oliver 9,008 $830,572
4th kirbynator 8,538 $1,122,269
5th Aditya “Intervention” Agarwal 8,432 $739,105
6th Raj “BadcardsAA” Vohra 7,988 $1,214,107
7th Steve “gboro780” Gross 7,918 $819,682
8th mralan2950 7,710 $777,994
9th Chris “cdbr3799” Dombrowski 7,686 $814,990
10th Mark “dipthrong” Herm 7,572 $759,241