Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Final Table Set at WPT Festa al Lago Main Event

Andy Frankenberger, Randal Flowers Gun For Second WPT Title


NOTE: You can watch all the action live from the final table. Check out the Card Player live updates page to follow along.

Just 13 players returned to the Bellagio to battle down to the televised final table at the 2010 World Poker Tour Festa al Lago. The action started at noon, but the final six weren’t determined until well after midnight.

The final table will be headlined by chip leader Randal “randallin” Flowers, who already has a WPT title to his credit after winning the Spanish Championship in 2009.

Noah “fouruhaters” Schwartz is only one blind behind Flowers and already has a WPT final table under his belt, having finished fourth at the 2008 Borgata Winter Open.

Though he entered the penultimate day in last place, Jason “NovaSky” Koon vaulted up the leader board and will start the final table in third place.

Perhaps the most intriguing story line comes courtesy of Andy Frankenberger, who won the WPT Legends of Poker main event in August. Should he win on Wednesday, not only would he claim his second WPT title of the season, but he would also move into third place in the Card Player Player of the Year race, just behind Tom Marchese and Dwyte Pilgrim.

The rest of the final table is represented by Skip Wilson and Michael “benvo123” Benvenuti.

Annette Obrestad and Jeff Madsen entered the day with big chip counts, but a few races gone bad saw them quickly heading the wrong direction. Obrestad put the rest of her stack in bad, but it took a bad beat for Madsen to hit the rail. They busted in 13th and 11th place, respectively.

The other eliminations on the day were rounded out by John Monnette (12th), John Krpan (10th), Brandon Steven (ninth) and Bobby Suer (eighth).

Hours passed before the mounting blinds and antes finally forced some action at the table. Almost 13 hours after starting the day, the field finally lost Allen Kessler, who was unlucky enough to run big slick into Jason Koon’s pocket aces.

Because the bubble took so long, the players will return tomorrow with an average of just under 24 big blinds as they battle it out for the first-place prize of $831,500.

Here’s a look at the chip counts entering the final table.

Seat 1: Skip Wilson — 1,200,000
Seat 2: Michael Benvenuti — 1,390,000
Seat 3: Jason Koon — 2,555,000
Seat 4: Noah Schwartz — 3,135,000
Seat 5: Randal Flowers — 3,215,000
Seat 6: Andy Frankenberger — 1,935,000

The action will begin at 4 p.m. and Card Player will be there to bring you live updates straight from the final table.