Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Series of Poker Circuit -- 2010-11 Season Will Air on Versus

First Poker Episodes to Ever Broadcast on Versus Will Begin Airing in June 2011


WSOP Circuit LogoThe World Series of Poker Circuit tour announced this week that VERSUS will air several events beginning in June 2011, marking the first time the network will air poker tournament coverage.

Poker Productions, the television production arm for WSOP Europe, High Stakes Poker and the National Heads-Up Poker Championship, will produce all the WSOP Circuit action airing on VERSUS.

“This is a big milestone for the industry,” said WSOP Vice President Ty Stewart. “We’re thrilled that one of the premier all-sports networks has recognized the brand power of the WSOP and decided to take the plunge into broadcasting our game.”

“We are very excited to present coverage of the World Series of Poker Circuit tour to a national audience of more than 75 million U.S. homes,” said Jeff Goldberg, Vice President of Programming for VERSUS. “The WSOP tour is one of the most successful in the business and we knew it was a great opportunity for our first venture into poker tournament coverage.”

Versus LogoThe telecasts will feature two hours of poker competition from select WSOP Circuit stops around the United States and culminate with the airing of the $1 million WSOP Circuit National Championship from Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, where the top 10 finishers will divvy up $1 million in prize money and the winner walks away with a coveted WSOP gold bracelet.

The WSOP Circuit tour, just starting its seventh season, is a series of individual poker tournaments featuring 13 different tour stops from mostly Harrah’s properties around the country. Buy-ins range from $200 to $10,000, and players amass points for each recorded in-the-money finish they have. Those garnering the most points or winning or placing at the final table of select events, automatically qualify for the WSOP Circuit National Championship to be held May 27-29, 2011 at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas — just days before the start of the 42nd annual WSOP.

Four players have already qualified automatically for the WSOP Circuit National Championship, and they include the $1,500 no-limit hold’em main event winner (Blair Hinkle) and casino champion (Robert Georato) from the Council Bluffs, Iowa event, and the $1,500 no-limit hold’em main event winner (Charles Moore) and casino champion (Kevin Manley) from the Southern Indiana event. Card Player featured full live updates from the $1,500 main event final table in Council Bluffs and Southern Indiana, and the live reporting team will be at the Horseshoe Hammond event in the Chicago area to bring you live updates from the $1,500 no-limit hold’em main event final table on October 24, and the the $10,000 Super Regional event that runs from Oct. 25-28.

The 2010-2011 WSOP Circuit tour began on August 19, 2010 at Horseshoe Council Bluffs in Iowa and continues through May 22, 2011 at Harrah’s New Orleans.

Here is a look at the full remaining schedule for the 2010-11 WSOP Circuit events. The television schedule for VERSUS will be released on as soon as that information becomes available.

NOTE: Bold indicates Super Regional, with an added event, the $10,000 nationally televised WSOP Circuit National Championship.

August 19 – August 31, 2010 Horseshoe Council Bluffs (Iowa)
October 2 – October 12, 2010 Horseshoe Southern Indiana
October 15 – October 28, 2010 Horseshoe Hammond (Chicago area)
October 28 – November 10, 2010 IP Casino Resort & Spa (Biloxi, MS)
November 11 – November 23, 2010 Harveys Lake Tahoe
December 4 – December 22, 2010 Harrah’s Atlantic City
January 6-25, 2011 Choctow Durant (Oklahoma/Dallas)
January 27 – February 15, 2011 Harrah’s Tunica
March 2 – March 13, 2011 Caesars Atlantic City
March 11 – March 30, 2011 Harrah’s Rincon (San Diego area)
March 31 – April 13, 2011 Harrah’s St. Louis
April 14 – April 30, 2011  Caesars Palace
May 9 – May 22, 2011 Harrah’s New Orleans
May 27-29, 2011 Caesars Palace (Las Vegas) National Championship