Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

The 2010 Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Are In

Top 10 Players Will Now Be Voted On By Committee


Poker Hall of FameThe nominations are in and set for the 2010 class of the Poker Hall of Fame. After two months of voting, the public has spoken and 10 names will be given to a panel of media members and current Hall of Fame members to determine who will join the elite club.

A total of 102 unique names were received during the nominations process, 44 of which received multiple nominations.

The top 10 are as follows:

Chris Ferguson
Barry Greenstein*
Jennifer Harman
Dan Harrington*
Phil Ivey*
Linda Johnson
Tom McEvoy*
Daniel Negreanu*
Scotty Nguyen*
Erik Seidel*

*Denotes a player who was nominated in 2009, as well.

The two players who earn the most votes will automatically earn their place in the Hall as long as they receive at least 50 percent of the vote. This is a change from 2009, where a 75 percent vote was required. This left Mike Sexton as the sole recipient of the honor.

Mike SextonAccording to Harrah’s, the main criteria for entry into the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows.

1. The player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition.

2. The player must have played for high stakes.

3. The player must have played consistently well, gaining the respect of their peers.

4. The player must have stood the test of time.

5. If the nominee was not a player, they must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The induction ceremony will take place during the World Series of Poker main event final table weekend at the Rio this November.