Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

WSOP Circuit -- Andrew Lichtenberger Wins Caesars Palace Las Vegas Event

Lichtenberger Beat Brock Parker, Stephen O’Dwyer, Aaron Been, and Matt Stout at the Final Table and took Home $190,137


Andrew Lichtenberger WinsThe $5,000 no-limit hold’em championship event at the World Series of Poker Circuit stop at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas attracted a field of 150 players. The total prize pool for the event was $717,500 and the top prize was $190,137. The top 18 players walked away with at least $12,556 in prize money and the final day of the tournament welcomed back 10 players. Here is a look at the chip counts when the final table began:

Final-Table Results:

Seat 1: Matt Stout — 270,000
Seat 2: Diego Sanchez — 472,000
Seat 3: Andrew Lichtenberger — 348,000 (pictured right)
Seat 4: Aaron Been — 198,000
Seat 5: Thu Nguyen — 157,000
Seat 6: James Carroll — 575,000
Seat 7: Steve O’Dwyer — 644,000
Seat 8: Brock Parker — 465,000
Seat 9: Anthony Yeh — 101,000
Seat 10: Dan Casetta — 489,000

Thu Nguyen was the first player to fall in 10th place ($16,144) when he moved all in preflop with A-6 and Stephen O’Dwyer looked him up with pocket jacks. The jacks held on a 9-9-4-10-Q. Matt Stout was eliminated in ninth place when he moved all in with A-Q and Brock Parker made the call with pocket jacks. The two jacks handed out another elimination after the board fell 10-9-6-8-3. Stout was awarded $19,731.

Anthony Yeh was dominated when he decided to move all in with A-J. Dan Casetta made the call with A-K and he found a king on the flop to eliminate Yeh in eighth place ($23,319). Shortly after that Aaron Been moved all in for pocket tens and James Carroll made the call with pocket queens. The queens held and Been was eliminated in seventh place ($28,700). Another professional fell when O’Dwyer moved all in preflop with pocket sevens and Andrew Lichtenberger made the call with ASpade Suit KSpade Suit. The board ran out 9Spade Suit 7Spade Suit 5Spade Suit 4Diamond Suit 10Diamond Suit and O’Dwyer was eliminated in sixth place ($35,875). Lichtenberger grew his stack to a chip leading 1.3 million after the hand.

Lichtenberger then eliminated James Carroll in fifth place ($44,844) and Diego Sanchez in fourth place ($57,400) to grow his stack to 2 million heading into the dinner break. The battle for third place was a quick one after the players returned. Parker moved all in preflop with QHeart Suit JSpade Suit and Lichtenberger made the call with AClub Suit KHeart Suit. The board was dealt AHeart Suit 7Heart Suit 4Heart Suit 7Club Suit 4Club Suit and Parker was eliminated in third place ($73,544).

Lichtenberger held the chip lead when heads-up play began but Casetta stole the lead a short time into the match. It then took five hours of battle between the final two to decide a champion. Lichtenberger got the lead back and then he started to lean on Casetta. The final table was prolonged when Casetta doubled up with eights up against a pair of kings held by Lichtenberger. Casetta rode that wave of momentum to take the lead for a second time, but then it was Lichtenberger’s turn to double up. His K-J defeated the K-9 of Casetta and he was back in the chip lead.

Lichtenberger held K-J once again when Casetta was all in for his tournament life a few minutes later with K-7 in the hole. The board ran out A-Q-5-7-9. Casetta had doubled up yet again and play continued. The next time he moved all in he was not so lucky. The final hand of the tournament began when Lichtenberger moved all in preflop from the button and Casetta made the call for his final 600,000. Their cards:

Casetta: ASpade Suit 8Spade Suit
Lichtenberger: KDiamond Suit 4Club Suit

Board: KSpade Suit JClub Suit 7Diamond Suit 5Heart Suit 6Club Suit

Casetta was eliminated in second place and he was awarded $114,800. Lichtenberger took home the top prize worth $190,137. It was his first WSOP Circuit championship event win and he now holds $1,797,129 in prize money.

Final-Table Results:

1: Andrew Lichtenberger — $190,137
2: Dan Casetta — $114,800
3: Brock Parker — $73,544
4: Diego Sanchez — $57,400
5: James Carroll — $44,844
6: Stephen O’Dwyer — $35,875
7: Aaron Been — $28,700
8: Anthony Yeh — $23,319
9: Matt Stout — $19,731
10: Thu Nguyen — $16,144



over 11 years ago

Sweet. Little tournament with some well known names.