Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments Daily Fantasy Sports Poker Stories Podcast U.S. Poker Markets

PaddyPowerPoker Irish Open 2010 -- Day 3

Irish Open Finds Final Table on Hectic But Long Day 3


Ross BoatmanOn day 2 of the Irish Open 2010 the money bubble was popped, but on day 3 an even more important milestone was reached – the final table.

Liam Flood started the day as chip leader but things were not going to be so easy for many of those with healthy chip stacks as the day progressed. The 61-strong field remaining in the €3,200 + €300 buy-in main event lost many familiar names including early session casualties Jen Mason, Eoghan O’Dea, Donal O’Connor, and Ed Roycroft.

They were then followed by later unfortunates Christopher Dowling in 41st place (€6,900), Dominik Nitsche in 38th (€6,900), Ross Boatman in 39th (€6,900) [pictured top right], Stuart Rutter in 34th (€9,800), number 10 in chips at start of play – Sofia Lovgren in 29th place (€9,800), Card Player columnist Marty Wilson in 17th place (€18,300), and Nik Persaud in 15th place (€18,300).

A huge knock-out of the day was Irish legend Liam Flood who went out far earlier than expected, earning €6,900 despite being the chip leader at the start of the day with 398,200. He lost, like many did throughout the day, with pocket queens. His opponent held A-K and a king on the flop was enough to decimate his stack back down to 100,000. It wasn’t long after this that “The Gentleman” was put on the other side of the rail.

Another big player expected to go a lot further was Andy Black. He was eliminated in 56th place by Steven King, earning just €4,500. Black put his remaining 40,000 in chips in the middle with pocket kings versus Steven King’s 7Heart Suit 3Heart Suit which made a flush on the river.

Not long before end of play, we found our Irish Open 2010 Sole Survivor – Rob Sherwood. After outlasting 130 other PaddyPowerPoker qualifiers, Sherwood took down the €100,000 package including winning €75,000 in cash, and €25,000 in tournament entries, not to forget whatever he earns today at the final table.

The unfortunate final table bubble was Dutchman Sean van Slujis, leaving these eight players to play out the day today:

Peter Murphy 546,000
Ben Roberts 419,000
Edmund Sweeney 407,000
Santeri Valikoski 1,722,000
Robert Sherwood 497,000
Paul Carr 1,596,000
James Mitchell 1,155,000
Declan Connolly 735,000

Check out today’s final table action from PaddyPowerPoker’s live stream as we reach the final leg of the hunt for a 2010 Irish Open champion.