Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Brandon Cantu Wins Wynn Poker Classic Championship

Defending Champion Keith Ferrera Finishes Fifth


Brandon CantuThe final 28 players returned for what promised to be a long day at the 2010 Wynn Poker Classic Championship. Deep-stacked with long blind levels, it would take nearly 14 hours before a winner was crowned.

As a dominant chip leader entering the day, Brandon Cantu (pictured left) stumbled a bit out of the gates, but regained his footing to enter the final table with the lead. After taking out fellow big stack Adam Taskinsoy in sixth place, Cantu was stacked with more than two-thirds of the chips in play.

The next to go was defending champion Keith Ferrera, (pictured below right) who won a preliminary event and came dangerously close to going back to back in the main event. Ferrera tried a big bluff against Cantu and had to show down 5 high on the river when Cantu called him down. Ferrera never recovered and was eliminated in fifth place, earning $58,685.

Keith FerreraBy the time Cantu got heads-up, he held a 5-1 chip lead over Jared Jaffee. The two players got it all in preflop with Cantu holding A-6 against A-5. The turn brought a 6, and Cantu claimed the outright title along with $363,844.

Here are the final results.

1. Brandon Cantu — $363,844
2. Jared Jaffee — $246,477
3. Melik Bagdasaryan — $129,107
4. Thomas Marchese — $73,356
5. Keith Ferrera — $58,685
6. Adam Taskinsoy — $46,948
7. Ken Lennaard — $35,211
8. Osmin “Oddie” Dardon — $23,474
9. Christopher Cirlly — $20,540



over 11 years ago

it must be the hooka