Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Online Poker -- William 'imahustler1' Givens Leads OPOY Race

Eric 'AceQuad' Brix and Casey 'bigdogpckt5s' Jarzabek Round Out Top 3


Casey JarzabekWe’re not even a full month into the 2010 season, but the Card Player Online Player of the Year race is already starting to take shape.

Sitting atop the rankings this week is William “imahustla1” Givens. The player from Denver had a monster start to his year by winning the Sunday $750,000 guarantee on Full Tilt for $122,145. He followed that up with an win the next day in the $1K Monday for $78,750. Though he does not have a lot of results on his poker résumé, he did pick up $144,765 for winning a Heartland Poker Tour event in Colorado late last year.

Second place belongs to Eric “AceQuad” Brix, who separated himself from the other PokerStars Sunday Million winners by finishing runner-up in a $100 rebuy, picking up 1,640 total points over the three-day stretch.

After finishing his 2009 campaign strong and cracking the top 10, Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek (pictured above right) is looking to improve on his finish and currently sits in third place. The Canadian has had three strong cashes, taking third in the PokerStars Sunday 500, winning a $100 rebuy the same day, and then taking second in the $200 rebuy last week. All told, he has $159,932 in OPOY-qualifying cashes this year.

Consistent cashers Jonathan “IveGotToejam” Wein and Ronald “ronaldgrauer” Grauer round out the top five. They are folowed by three big Sunday winners in urya99, Isetit and JAMA1CA2008. Sunday Brawl winner Mike “CuteIsWhatIAim4” Telker sits in ninth place and Brazil’s Leandro “AmarulaBr” Balotin is in 10th.

Here’s a look at the top ten standings:

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2010 Winnings
1st William “imahustla1” Givens 1,680 $200,895
2nd Eric “AceQuad” Brix 1,640 $269,955
3rd Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 1,500 $159,932
4th Jonathan “IveGotToejam” Wein 1,478 $181,106
5th Ronald “ronaldgrauer” Grauer 1,458 $116,233
6th urya99 1,440 $254,184
6th Isetit 1,440 $256,576
6th JAMA1CA2008 1,440 $225,368
9th Mike “CuteIsWhatIAim4” Telker 1,320 $101,130
10th Leandro “AmarulaBr” Balotin 1,250 $110,194