Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Online Poker -- Steve 'gboro780' Gross Just One Week From OPOY

David 'Sir Sands' Sands Takes Over Second Place


Steve GrossIn 2008, Steve “gboro780” Gross (pictured right) fought hard, but ultimately failed to overcome Alex “AJKHoosier1” Kamberis and his large lead in the Online Player of the Year race, eventually settling for second place. This time around, Gross has a comfortable lead of his own heading into the final week of the year.

Gross added two qualifying cashes this week, including a final table in the $1K Monday on Full Tilt, where he finished seventh for $10,432 and picked up 120 points. Ironically, Kamberis and Gross played at the same table for quite some time and Kamberis ended up taking second place, losing to Ryan Welch. The score put Gross at 10,032 points for the year, the most in the leader board’s three-year history.

Chris MoormanThere is a new player in second place, after David “Sir Sands” Sands won the $100 rebuy on Full Tilt this Sunday. Sands earned $47,275 for the victory, bringing his total online winnings for the year to $975,014. His 480-point performance dropped Thayer “THAY3R” Rasmussen into third place.

Gross had a real reason to sweat the weekend’s PokerStars Sunday Million final table, where Chris “Moorman1” Moorman (pictured left) arrived loaded with chips. Had the young UK pro won, he would have been just a few hundred points from catching Gross. Instead, he had to settle for a solid, yet disappointing eighth place finish.

Jon Van FleetThanks to an amazing three-month stretch, Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet (pictured right) is now back in the OPOY discussion. Van Fleet has torn apart rebuy tournaments this year, final tabling an astounding 17 of them while picking up $661,276 overall. This will undoubtedly be Van Fleet’s highest finish in the rankings, after placing 35th in 2007 and 172nd in 2008.

The rest of the top ten is represented by Shaun “TedsFishFry” Deeb (5th), Joseph “hoodini10” Udine (6th), Jeremiah “Believer82” Vinsant (7th), Jonathan “shipitobv” Delong (8th) and Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek (9th).

Here’s a look at the top 10:

Rank Player Name OPOY Points 2009 Winnings
1 Steve “gboro780” Gross 10,032 $1,201,199
2 David “Sir Sands” Sands 9,060 $975,014
3 Thayer “THAY3R” Rasmussen 8,844 $701,150
4 Chris “Moorman1” Moorman 8,452 $955,781
5 Shaun “TedsFishFry” Deeb 8,290 $788,451
6 Joseph “hoodini10” Udine 8,052 $882,927
7 Jeremiah “Believer82” Vinsant 7,994 $830,766
8 Jonathan “shipitobv” Delong 7,926 $764,124
9 Casey “bigdogpckt5s” Jarzabek 7,776 $665,453
10 Jon “apestyles” Van Fleet 7,624 $661,276