Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Krzystzof Grubka Wins EMOP Malta Grand Final

Pole Lifts Final Title in Inaugural European Masters of Poker Tour


The European Masters of Poker Malta Grand Final which took place at the weekend in Vittoriosa, Malta was won by Polish player Krzystzof Grubka who lifted €95,000 for topping the 291 strong field.

Grubka faced Joakim Sörenson heads-up but the pair cut a deal with chip counts of 2.4 million and 1.9 million respectively and Grubka took the title and the lion’s share of the money while Sörenson settled for second place and €88,000.

The final table payouts were:

1 Krzystzof Grubka (POL) €95,000
2 Joakim Sörenson (SWE) €88,000
3 Tero Aho — €43,650
4 Lukas Bäumer (GER) €26,190
5 Tobias Knutås — €21,800
6 Christer Larsson (SWE) €17,460
7 Martin Gudvangen (NOR) €14,481
8 Leo Nordin (SWE) €12,221

The event was the fifth and final leg of the first season of the European Masters of Poker and created the largest prize pool of the entire tour with €436,500 distributed to the top 26 players.

A number of big name players turned out for the event including David Steicke, Johnny Lodden, Mel Judah, Abel Mejberg, Jonas Kyllonen and three former champions of the tour also made an appearance ― Johanna Pyysing, Anton Wigg, and Reuven Dayan.

An announcement is expected soon on next season’s European Masters of Poker.