Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Poker Tour Venice Stop Begins Wednesday

The WPT Ventures into Italy for the First Time

Print-icon
 

Lee Markholt will venture to Venice to play in the new World Poker Tour eventThe World Poker Tour will make its first stop in Italy on Wednesday, May 6, with a €4,000+€400 buy-in no-limit hold’em tournament at the Casino Di Venezia in Venice. The main event will take place from May 6-10, and in addition to prize money, the eventual winner will walk away with a WPT bracelet and a $25,500 entry into the 2010 WPT Championship. This will be a non-televised event. Players who made the trip to the PokerStars European Poker Tour Grand Final in Monte Carlo will be making the short journey over to Venice to play in this event, including veteran tournament professional Lee Markholt.

There will also be two side events featured in Venice, a €1,000+€100 no-limit hold’em tournament that begins at 4 p.m. CEST (7 a.m. PDT) on May 9, and a €300+€30 no-limit hold’em tournament that begins at 4 p.m. CEST (7 a.m. PDT) on May 10.

Here is a look at the schedule for the WPT Venice main event:

Note: Players will begin with 15,000 in chips, and blinds begin at 25-50. Levels will last for 60 minutes. All tournament days begin at 3 p.m. CEST (6 a.m. PDT).

Wednesday, May 6: Day 1
Thursday, May 7: Day 2
Friday, May 8: Day 3
Saturday, May 9: Day 4
Sunday, May 10: Final table

Check back at CardPlayer.com late on Sunday, May 10 for a recap of the final table.