Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Season VII of World Poker Tour Premieres on FSN

New Season Crowns its 100th Poker Millionaire


The World Poker Tour begins its stay at another new home Jan. 4 on Fox Sports Net, when the poker show begins airing its seventh season of 26 episodes on Sunday, Jan. 4. Please check your local listings for times.

The WPT is also changing its format for the new season. All final tables of the tournaments featured in Season VII will be aired in two one-hour shows to give viewers a wider-range of hands and a better idea of how the final tables of these events played out.

FSN is the third home to the WPT. The seminal poker show spent its first five seasons on the Travel Channel, which dropped the show after deciding to move away from gambling-related programming in 2007. The WPT then moved to GSN for one season, before getting picked up by FSN for Season VII.

Season VII contained some significant milestones for the WPT. The 100th “WPT Poker-Made Millionaire” was made last year, and the $400 million mark for prize money was also broken. Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten are back with a new hostess, Amanda Leatherman.

The episodes are sponsored by and Southwest Airlines, which is the official airline of the WPT. And while the show’s new home is FSN, old episodes are still being shown on GSN and the Travel Channel.

The list of final table participants of all the WPT events that were filmed last year for Season VII are as followed (players are listed in no particular order. Exact premiere dates of the episodes are unavailable, so please check your local listings). Full coverage or the events, including the winners, can be found at Card Player:

$15,000 Bellagio Cup IV

John Phan, Ralph Perry, David Benyamine, Luke Staudenmaier, Gabriel Thaler and Michael Watson.

$10,000 Legends of Poker

Paul Smith, John Phan, Mike Nguyen, Kyle Wilson, Amit Makhija and Zachary Clark.

$10,000 Borgata Poker Open

Mark Seif, Sang Kim, Jason Strochak, Andrew Knee, Daniel Heimiller and Vivek Rajkumar.

$10,000 North American Poker Championship

Kathy Liebert, Marc Karam, James Trenholm, Ryan Fisler, Gavin Smith and Glen Witmer.

$15,000 Festa al Lago

Nam Le, Bertrand Grospellier, Osmin Dardon, Adam Levy, Nenad Medic and William Mietz.

$10,000 World Poker Finals

Mike Matusow, David Pham, Charles Marchese, Jack Schanbacher, Jonathan Jaffe and Jonathan Little.

$15,000 Doyle Brunson Five Diamond World Poker Classic

Chino Rheem, Evan McNiff, Hoyt Corkins, Amnon Filippi, Justin Young and Steve Sung.

$10,000 Southern Poker Championship

Takes place at Beau Rivage Casino, Jan. 14-17, 2009.

$10,000 L.A. Poker Championship

Takes place at Commerce Casino, Feb. 21-26, 2009.

WPT Celebrity Invitational

Takes place at Commerce Casino, Feb. 28 to March 2, 2009.

$10,000 Bay 101 Shooting Star

Takes place at Bay 101 Casino, March 16-20, 2009.

$10,000 Foxwoods Poker Classic

Takes place at Foxwoods, April 4-9, 2009.

WPT World Championship

Dates and location to be determined.



almost 13 years ago

ummm .... how can two one hour shows for each final table offer viewers "a wider-range of hands and a better idea of how the final tables of these events played out." than a single two hour show for each final table?

If you're going to write a puff piece for a big advertiser, at least don't insult the readers' intellignece with it.