Join A Poker Community Of 200,000+ Users!

ESPN to Premiere Event No. 2 $1,500 No-Limit Event Tonight

Record-Breaking Field Awards $831,000 to Winner


The first $1,500 buy-in no-limit hold’em event of the 2008 World Series of Poker was the largest non-main-event turnout for any WSOP tournament it its 39-year history. A field of 3,929 entrants generated a prize pool of almost $5.4 million, and tonight on ESPN, viewers will get to see the action first-hand as the event plays down from nine to one bracelet winner who receives a first-place prize of more than $831,000.

Here are is a list of the players and chip counts before the start of the final table:

Seat 1: Jeff Wiedenhoeft — 880,000
Seat 2: David Bach — 675,000
Seat 3: Aaron Coulthard — 1,510,000
Seat 4: Mike Ngo — 1,375,000
Seat 5: Joe Rutledge — 785,000
Seat 6: Melvin Jones — 1,280,000
Seat 7: Theo Tran — 1,420,000
Seat 8: Chris Ferguson — 1,235,000
Seat 9: James Akenhead — 1,995,000
Seat 10: Grant Hinkle — 680,000

Card Player TV got to sit down with a few of the final tablists before play began. To view the final table preview for this event, check the Card Player TV archives under the World Series link.

To find out the winner, or to view photos, winner interviews, or event update logs on event No. 2, click on WSOP under the Tournaments link. For more Poker On TV listings, click under the Tools and Tips link on Card